Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Narratives of Female Exhaustion around 1900 and 2000

Logo

Negotiations of exhaustion, gender and work in literature and medicine

The project aims to highlight and systematize female exhaustion narratives around 1900 and 2000. By combining discourse analysis and a gender theoretical perspective with a narratological approach, the project renders discourses of exhaustion, femininity and work in their respective formations of motifs and structures visible and analyzable.

Geopolitics of Literary Translation

Logo

The Literary Colloquium Berlin and the Streams of Translation in Europe

The project examines the development of the Literary Colloquium Berlin (LCB) into a centre of literary translation funding in a national and European context. The aim of the project is, firstly, the historical reconstruction of this development, and secondly, a translation-sociological field-analysis and interpretation of the translation transfers undertaken by the LCB.

Philological Laboratory

PhilologischesLaboratorium-Logo

New Models of Approaches to Art beyond Criticism

The project’s objective is to develop ways of approaching formations of meaning that are not guided by the prevailing model of criticism. Critical tools developed in the disciplines shall be used in a more cautious and thoughtful way in order to satisfy one’s own experience of art. It is about admiring things as a critic, to be driven by curiosity, to give in to surprise – in short: to exceed one’s own knowledge.

TransPacifica

Rundes Logo

Middle European Observations of a New Global Center (1900–1945)

The Transpacifica group is conducting fundamental research into the German perception of the relations between China, Japan, and the USA during the imperialist era and the two World Wars. The research project examines the emergence between 1900 and 1945 of a pivotal geopolitical triangle in the Northern Pacific with the three upcoming world powers as its vertices. The associated dynamics of such a development was considered to have the potential to shift the center of world history onto the Northern Pacific region, leading up to the marginalization of Europe. 

Aristotelian Negotiations

Tragödie Webseite

Interweaving tragedy theory and the history of knowledge

The development of the European tragedy involves a pervasive transformation in the imagination of tragic elements. What are the consequences in terms of cultural history and gender politics?

Community as Retrotopia?

p-Retrotopia-Bild

Belonging in Literature and Video Art

The comparative study at the intersection of literature and cultural anthropology analyzes imageries of community in selected literary texts and video artworks within the context of categories such as belonging, recognition, and solidarity.

Phono post

grammophon_930_2

Media Archaeology of Voice Mail

Greetings from the gramophone: in the first half of the 20th century, one could send acoustic greetings through phono post, which this project is archiving and analyzing for the first time.

Award for Doctoral Programmes

Award through the Einstein Foundation Berlin: In 2017, Friedrich Schlegel Graduate School won the Einstein Foundation Berlin’s main award, endowed with 360.000 EUR for the best doctoral program in the city. From 2017–2020, the award allowed for:

- 4 three-year dissertation grants
- 3 Einstein project grants (EPS) per year for the transition phase from master to doctorate
- 1 International Summer School per year
- 1 new international cooperation with South African universities

Excellence Initiative & Strategy

From 2007 to 2019, the FSGS was supported through the Excellence Initiative of the federal and state governments. What does this mean? What happened afterwards? Find out here.

Department of Philosophy and Humanities
GeschKultLogoEngl
Dahlem Research School
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
logo einstein grau

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Narrative weiblicher Erschöpfung um 1900 und 2000

Logo

Verhandlungen von Erschöpfung, Geschlecht und Arbeit in Literatur und Medizin

Das Projekt zielt darauf ab, mittels der Verknüpfung einer diskursanalytischen und gendertheoretischen Perspektive mit einem narratologischen Ansatz, Narrative weiblicher Erschöpfung um 1900 und 2000 herauszuarbeiten und zu systematisieren, d.h. die jeweiligen Diskurse um Erschöpfung, Weiblichkeit und Arbeit sowie ihre konkrete Ausformung in Motiven und narrativen Strukturen sichtbar zu machen und zu analysieren.

Geopolitik literarischen Übersetzens

Logo

Das Literarische Colloquium Berlin und die Übersetzungsströme in Europa

Das Forschungsprojekt verfolgt ein zweifaches Ziel: erstens die historische Rekonstruktion der Entwicklung des Literarischen Colloquium Berlin (LCB) zu einem Zentrum literarischer Übersetzungsförderung im nationalen und europäischen Kontext, zweitens eine Analyse und Interpretation der Geopolitik dieser Übersetzungsförderung am LCB mit den Methoden einer feldanalytischen Übersetzungswissenschaft.

Philologisches Laboratorium

PhilologischesLaboratorium-Logo

Neue Modelle des Umgangs mit Kunst jenseits der Kritik

Ziel des Projekts ist es, Weisen der Annäherung an Sinngebilde zu entwickeln, die sich nicht am waltenden Modell der Kritik orientieren. In den Disziplinen entwickeltes kritisches Rüstzeug soll behutsamer und umsichtiger verwandt werden, um der eigenen Erfahrung mit Kunst gerecht zu werden. Es geht darum als Kritiker Dinge zu bewundern, von Neugierde getrieben zu werden, sich der Überraschung hinzugeben – kurz: in dem, was er schon weiß, übertroffen zu werden.

TransPacifica

Rundes Logo

Mitteleuropäische Observationen einer Neuen Mitte (1900-1945)

»In jener Zeit werden gewaltige neue Nationen auf riesenhaften Schiffen zwischen den Ufern Asiens und Amerikas verkehren […]. Da wird die Zivilisation ihren Lauf um den Erdball vollendet haben, und die alte Europa, einst eine so schöne, blühende Jungfrau, […] wird dann ein vertrocknetes Mütterlein sein, das uralte und alte Schätze und Andenken in altväterlichen Kommoden und Schränken und in der Schürze hält.« (Wilhelm Raabe, 1863)

Aristotelische Verhandlungen

p-Aristoteles-Bild3

Verflechtung von Tragödientheorie und Wissensgeschichte

Die Entstehung der europäischen Tragödie geht mit einer tiefgreifenden Transformation der Vorstellung des Tragischen einher. Welche kulturhistorischen und genderpolitischen Konsequenzen verbinden sich damit?

Gemeinschaft als Retrotopia?

p-Retrotopia-Bild

Zugehörigkeit in Literatur und Videokunst 

Die komparatistische Studie an der Schnittstelle von Literatur- und Kulturanthropologie untersucht Darstellungen von Gemeinschaften in ausgewählten literarischen Texten und Videoarbeiten im Kontext von Kategorien wie Zugehörigkeit, Anerkennung und Solidarität. 

Doktorandenprogrammpreis

Auszeichnung durch die Einstein Stiftung Berlin: Die Friedrich Schlegel Graduiertenschule gewann 2017 den mit 360.000 EUR dotierten Hauptpreis der Einstein Stiftung Berlin für das beste Doktorandenprogramm der Stadt. Das Preisgeld ermöglichte in den Jahren 2017–2020:

- 4 dreijährige Promotionsstipendien
- 3 Einstein-Projektstipendien (EPS) pro Jahr für die Übergangsphase vom Master zur Promotion
- 1 internationale Summer School pro Jahr
- 1 neue internationale Kooperation mit südafrikanischen Universitäten

Exzellenzinitiative & -strategie

Die FSGS wurde von 2007 bis 2019 über die Exzellenzinitiative des Bundes und der Länder gefördert. Was bedeutet das? Wie ging es danach weiter? Informieren Sie sich hier.

Zur Website Fachbereich Philosophie und Geisteswissenschaften
GeschKultLogo
Dahlem Research School
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
logo einstein grau