Cinematic Mediations Between Technique and Life

July 10th – 12th 2008, Berlin

International Research Training Group "Interart Studies", Berlin
Doctoral School "Forms of Life and Know-How of Living", Potsdam and Frankfurt/Oder
Doctoral School "Media of History - History of Media", Weimar


Film wakes life in making the photographic world dance. André Bazin claims film to be a “transformation of life into itself”. The idea of a direct affinity between film and life is a foundational figure of film theory and can be traced throughout its historiography and theory. What unifies the various approaches is an emphatic reference to life. But from its very beginning the relationship between film and life is constituted by a paradox: How can the most technical of all arts grant the access to the immediacy of life? This figure is constituted by a dichotomic topography, which situates film between mechanical illusion and vital consciousness, between automatic eye and subjective form, between immediacy and its mediation – shortly, between technique and life. This film-aesthetic dialectic points to the constitutive tension of science and life in modernity.
In taking the paradoxical figure of the mediation of the immediate as its starting point, the conference Waking Life aims at questioning the manifold relationship between film and life.
The privileged relation to life always implies the technical promise to capture time. Time and movement in the filmic space are not simply to be understood in terms of objective, homogenous time and mechanistic illusion, but rather as subjectively lived duration, as what Henri Bergson called “durée”. For Bazin, “durée” is the decisive criterion of difference between photography and film. He describes film through the paradoxical figure of the “mummy of change” and thus points to the fact, that film never stands in a direct timely relation to life, but rather – in what could be called its indexical latency – wakes the dead to life.
Yet, the filmic reference to life does not restrict itself to a simple realism of the copy. The objective eye of the camera on the one side registers and shows life “as it is”, but on the other side always reveals the outer-filmic reality in a way unseen before. The life, which film shows us, is not restricted to human life: The “ontological equality” of the filmic image dis-hierarchizes stratifications between humans, animals and things. This affinity to all aspects of the material world constitutes for Jacques Rancière the aesthetic equality of the filmic image as “splendor of the insignificant”. Film unfolds in the tension between aesthetic autonomy and the incarnation of life. Herein appears the romantic vision of a fusion of art and life, which in the medium of film takes the paradoxical forms of the mediation of the immediate and the making visible of the invisible.
Walter Benjamin’s famous formulation of the “blue flower in the land of technique” discovers in the successful coincidence of immediacy and artificiality the kairotic constellation of film: film thus appears as the scene of a dialectic mediation of technique and nature, mechanics and life. Siegfried Kracauer attributes to film – as mediation of the immediate in the face of abstractness of modern life – the historic potential of a “redemption of physical reality”.
Filmic experience, following Kracauer, is always linked to a moment of de-subjectivation: the psychophysical affection of the spectator’s body becomes the starting point of a bodily opening of outer reality. Gilles Deleuze sees cinema due to its automatic and psycho mechanic qualities as a “mental automaton”, which is capable of manifesting a shock in thought. Stanley Cavell also sees cinema as the art to accomplish the old human wish to escape subjectivity – to watch the world from outside “as it is” without being involved oneself. But this  “seeing unseen” only seems to be the recovery of immediacy within our relationship to the world: the automatic world projection only works at the price of our absence.

The conference Waking Life will thus – with the figure of the mediation of the immediate as a starting point – be guided by the idea of an inherent relationship between film and life. From this starting point several lines of fight can be traced:
From a culture-historical as well as from an epistemological point of view, the relation between film and life seems to be divided in two traditions: Besides the above mentioned concept of film as technically created vitality, the cinematographic technology seems from its very beginning also to follow a Gnostic impulse, taking an extrinsic approach to life. The pre-cinematographic studies of movement by Marey and Muybridge are to be placed within this context of a bio-political mobilisation. These two lines of tradition however seem to determine one another. From an aesthetic point of view questions addressing the corporal and affective nature of filmic perception can be asked. “Life” in this context always also designates the social and the everyday aspects of life. In this context cultural as well as anthropological question concerning the function of film as collective subconscious or cinema as the space for defining or loosing identity emerge. In taking the dichotomy of filmic life and photographic death as starting point, questions concerning the media specific significance of the figures of the in-between that populate the thinking about these two media: the ghost, the phantom, the vampire, the revenant and trauma could be addressed. A question, which remains to be solved, is how film can be positioned in respect to the aesthetic avant-gardes, which aim at the transgression of the boarders between art and life.

The conference will be held in English and German.

Concept and organisation:

Lisa Åkervall, Adina Lauenburger, Sulgi Lie, Christian Tedjasukmana



Download of the CFP as pdf.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Waking Life

WAKING LIFE
Cinematic Mediations Between Technique and Life

10. - 12. Juli 2008, Berlin


Internationales Graduiertenkolleg "InterArt", Berlin
Graduiertenkolleg "Lebensformen und Lebenswissen", Potsdam und Frankfurt/Oder
Graduiertenkolleg "Mediale Historiographien", Weimar

 

Der Film erweckt die Dinge zum Leben, indem er die fotografische Welt zum Tanzen bringt. André Bazin sieht im Film sogar die „Verwandlung des Lebens in sich selbst“. Diese Idee einer direkten Affinität zwischen Film und Leben ist eine der Gründungsfiguren der Filmtheorie und zieht sich als Konstante durch die Historiografie und Theorie des Films. Was die diversen Herangehensweisen eint, ist ein emphatischer Bezug aufs Leben. Von Anfang an ist dem Verhältnis von Film und Leben jedoch ein Paradox eingeschrieben: Ausgerechnet die technischste aller Künste soll den Zugang zur Unmittelbarkeit des Lebens gewähren. Zentral ist dieser Figur jene zweiseitige Topografie, die den Film zwischen mechanischer Illusion und lebendigem Bewusstsein, automatischem Auge und subjektiver Form, Unmittelbarkeit und ihrer medialen Vermittlung, kurzum: Technik und Leben verortet. Dabei verweist diese filmästhetische Dialektik kulturgeschichtlich auf das grundlegende Spannungsverhältnis von Wissenschaft und Lebenswelt in der Moderne.
Der privilegierte Zugang zum Leben, der dem Film attestiert wird, impliziert immer schon das technische Versprechen, die Zeit einzufangen. Zeit und Bewegung sind im filmischen Raum gerade nicht einfach als objektive, homogene Zeit und als mechanistische Illusion zu verstehen, sondern als subjektiv erlebte Dauer, als das, was Henri Bergson durée nennt. Für Bazin ist die durée das entscheidende Differenzkriterium zwischen Fotografie und Film. Er beschreibt den Film auch in der paradoxen Figur der „Mumie der Veränderung“ und verweist damit auf die Tatsache, dass Film nie in einem direkten zeitlichen Abbildungsverhältnis zum Leben steht, sondern in der indexikalischen Latenz einer nachträglichen Animierung das Tote wieder zum Leben erweckt.
Der filmische Bezug zum Leben ist jedoch nicht mit einem bloßen Abbildrealismus gleichzusetzen. Das objektive Auge der Kamera zeigt einerseits das ‚Leben, wie es ist’, auf der anderen Seite wird neben der registrierenden zugleich die „enthüllende Funktion“ filmischer Bilder betont. Nach Walter Benjamin hat der Film sogar das Potenzial, das „Optisch-Unbewusste“ zu entbergen. Das Leben, das der Film uns zeigt, ist keineswegs notwendigerweise ein menschliches Leben: Die „ontologische Gleichheit“ des filmischen Bildes enthierarchisiert die Stratifikationen zwischen Menschen, Tieren und Dingen. Diese Affinität zu allen Aspekten der stofflichen Welt begründet für Jacques Rancière die ästhetische Gleichheit als „Ruhms des Beliebigen“. Film entfaltet sich demnach in der Spannung zwischen ästhetischer Autonomie und der Inkarnation des Lebens. Hier scheint die romantische Vision des Einschmelzens von Kunst und Leben auf, die im Film die bestimmte Form einer Vermittlung des Unmittelbaren oder einer Sichtbarmachung des Unsichtbaren annimmt.
Siegfried Kracauer sieht angesichts der Abstraktheit des Lebens in der Moderne im Film das geschichtliche Potenzial einer „Errettung der physischen Realität.“ Die Filmerfahrung, so Kracauer, geht dabei mit einem Moment der Entsubjektivierung einher: Die psychophysische Affizierung des Zuschauerkörpers wird als ‚innere’ Erschütterung zum Ausgangspunkt einer leiblichen Eröffnung der ‚äußeren’ Wirklichkeit. Gilles Deleuze versteht das Kino aufgrund seiner automatischen und psychomechanischen Eigenschaften als „geistigen Automaten“, der in der Lage ist, einen Begegnung mit dem Ungedachten im Denken zu induzieren. Auch Stanley Cavell zufolge erfüllt das Kino den alten Menschheitswunsch, der Subjektivität zu entkommen – die Welt von außen betrachten zu können, ‚so wie sie ist’, jedoch gerade ohne selbst involviert zu sein. Das ‚ungesehene Sehen’ stellt lediglich eine scheinbare Rückgewinnung von Unmittelbarkeit in unserem Verhältnis zur Welt dar: Die automatische Weltprojektion funktioniert nur um den Preis unserer Abwesenheit.

Die Tagung Waking Life möchte sich dem vielschichtigen Verhältnis von Film und Leben widmen, indem sie ihren Ausgangspunkt von jener paradoxen Figur einer filmischen Vermittlung des Un-mittelbaren nimmt. Von hier aus können verschiedene Fluchtlinien gezogen werden:
Ein Interart-Zugang, der Film als Teil der ästhetischen Avantgarden verortet, könnte Fragen der Transgressionen von Kunst und Leben stellen. Aus einem kulturgeschichtlichen wie epistemologischen Blickwinkel heraus, scheint der Bezug des Films zum Leben in zwei Traditionen gespalten: Neben der hier diskutierten Konzeption des Films als technisch hervorgebrachte Lebendigkeit, folgt die kinematografische Technologie einem gnostischen Impuls, einem Erkenntniszugriff auf das verdinglichte Leben. Die präkinematografischen Bewegungsstudien von Etienne Marey und Eadweard Muybridge sind in diesem Kontext einer biopolitischen Mobilisierung zu sehen. Beide Traditionslinien scheinen sich dabei wechselseitig zu bedingen. Aus einer aisthetischen Perspektive können Fragen bezüglich der körperlichen und affektiven Filmwahrnehmung gestellt werden. Die Rede vom Leben meint hier immer auch das soziale, alltagskulturelle Leben. Daraus ergeben sich kulturelle und anthropologische Fragen nach der Funktion des Films als kollektives Unbewusstes oder auch nach dem Kino als Ort der Bildung oder des Verlusts von Identität.  Aus einer intermedialen Perspektive – ausgehend von der Dichotomie des filmischen Lebens und des fotografischen Todes – können Fragen nach der medienspezifischen Relevanz der Figuren des Dazwischen wie das Gespenst, das Phantom oder der Widergänger gestellt werden.

Die Konferenzsprachen sind deutsch und englisch.

Konzept und Organisation:

Lisa Åkervall, Adina Lauenburger, Sulgi Lie, Christian Tedjasukmana

 

Das Programm der Tagung finden Sie hier als pdf.

 

Download des Call for Papers als pdf.

 

Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft