'Interart Studies' Curriculum

According to the regulations for the doctoral programme, doctoral students are expected to design in consultation with their thesis adviser(s) a study plan that suits their dissertation project as well as their needs. The doctoral students can choose from a wide range of courses; some of them are mandatory. Please follow this link for the model of a study plan!

As part of the academic research project, a study period abroad is scheduled for generally one semester, preferably at Copenhagen Doctoral School in Cultural Studies.

Obligatory courses of the doctoral programme include a fortnightly research colloquium in which doctoral students present and discuss their ongoing research. The colloquium takes place every semester.

Annually, three joint symposia are organized jointly with Copenhagen Doctoral School in Cultural Studies and Goldsmith College London. Here, doctoral students have to give a lecture about a subject relevant to the doctoral studies programme once a year.

All doctoral candidates are expected to attend the annual conference of the International Research Training Group 'Interart Studies' as well as the lecture series which is organised every summer semester and deals with subjects relevant to the Research Group’s fields of interest.

During the first year, an interdisciplinary doctoral seminar (Oberseminar) introducing the research area 'Interart Studies' is mandatory. It is meant to provide a common basis for the different disciplines and to facilitate an interdisciplinary approach to the research area.

Doctoral students can choose from a wide range of courses offered by Freie Universität Berlin, especially by Dahlem Research School (DRS), e.g. workshops and courses designed to enhance scholarly competences such as language skills, scientific writing, presentation techniques, didactic skills and management skills. The actual DRS Professional Development Program can be seen here

In addition, they can attend workshops, master classes or guest lectures offered by the Research Training Group or other research institutions. Active participation in conferences is a part of the study programme as well.

In the course of the doctoral programme, the students increasingly focus on research within their field of interest. They are offered the opportunity to present their research project in a seminar or a conference. Besides, doctoral students are enabled to plan and organize academic events dealing with a subject of their choice within the Research Training Group.

In the third year, the students shall focus on writing their thesis. They are required to regularly present their work’s progress to their advisors. The defence of the doctoral thesis is scheduled for the end of the third year. Successful students receive their respective doctorate as well as a second certificate testifying their interdisciplinary doctoral studies 'Interart Studies'.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Studieninhalte "Interart Studies"

Die Promotionsstudienordnung sieht vor, dass die Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden in Absprache mit ihren Betreuerinnen und Betreuern einen Studienplan entwerfen, der auf ihr Dissertationsvorhaben  abgestimmt ist. Während die Teilnahme an einigen Veranstaltungen verpflichtend ist, können die Doktoranden andere Veranstaltungen wählen. Zur Orientierung finden Sie einen exemplarischen Studienplan hier auf der Website.

Im Rahmen der wissenschaftlichen Forschungsarbeit ist ein Auslandsaufenthalt von in der Regel einem Semester erwünscht, vorzugsweise an der Københavns Universitet.

Zu den verpflichtenden Veranstaltungen des Promotionsstudiums gehört durch alle Semester hindurch ein zweiwöchentlich stattfindendes Forschungsskolloquium, in dem die Promovierenden über die Arbeit an ihren Dissertationsprojekten berichten.

Auch auf den zweimal im Jahr stattfinden Joint Symposien, die in Kooperation mit der Copenhagen Doctoral School in Cultural Studies abgehalten werden, halten die Promovierenden einmal im Jahr einen Vortrag zu einem für das Promotionsprogramm relevanten Thema.

Ebenfalls verpflichtend für alle Promovenden ist die Teilnahme an der jährlich stattfinden Tagung des Internationalen Graduiertenkollegs "InterArt" sowie der im Sommersemster jeden Jahres stattfindenden Ringvorlesung, die sich jeweils einem Thema im Forschungsgebiet des Graduiertenkollegs widmen.

Darüber hinaus findet im ersten Jahr ein interdisziplinäres Oberseminar zur Einführung in das Forschungsgebiet "Interart Studies" statt. Es soll den Promovierenden aus den verschiedenen Disziplinen eine gemeinsame Diskussionsbasis und eine große Bandbreite interdisziplinärer Zugangsweisen zum Forschungsgebiet vermitteln und ist ebenfalls verpflichtend.

Ferner haben die Promovierenden die Möglichkeit, aus dem Angebot der FU, insbesondere der Dahlem Research School (DRS), Workshops und Kurse zum Fremdsprachenerwerb, zu wissenschaftlichen Vortrags- und Schreibtechniken, zum Erwerb didaktischer Kompetenzen oder zum Wissenschaftsmanagement auszuwählen. Das aktuelle Weiterbildungsprogramm der DRS finden Sie hier.

Weiterhin können sie Workshops, Master Classes oder Gastvorträge aus dem Programm des Graduiertenkollegs oder auswärtiger, auch ausländischer Graduiertenschulen, Graduiertenkollegs, Sonderforschungsbereiche oder anderer Forschungsverbünder und Promotionsprogramme anderer in- und ausländischer Hochschulen besuchen. Auch der Besuch von Tagungen ist Teil des Studienprogramms.

Im Laufe des Promotionsstudiums werden die Promovierenden  zunehmend ihre eigene Forschung verfolgen. Sie erhalten die Möglichkeit, ihren Forschungsgegenstand im Rahmen einer Lehrveranstaltung zu vermitteln oder auf einer Tagung vorzustellen. Sie haben darüber hinaus die Möglichkeit, eine wissenschaftliche Veranstaltung zu einem Thema ihrer Wahl im Rahmen des Graduiertenkollegs "InterArt" zu konzipieren und zu organisieren.

Das dritte Jahr soll vor allem dem Schreiben der Arbeit gewidmet sein. Die Studierenden sind verpflichtet, ihren Betreuern regelmäßig den Fortschritt ihrer Arbeit vorzustellen. Für das Ende des dritten Jahres ist die Verteidigung der Dissertation vorgesehen. Erfolgreiche Studierende werden sowohl den Doktortitel ihrer Disziplin als auch ein zweites Zeugnis erhalten, das ihr interdisziplinäres Promotionsstudium im Themenbereich "Interart Studies" dokumentiert.

Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft