Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Chair for Byzantine Studies

Mount Athos with the Monastery of Stavronikita

Mount Athos with the Monastery of Stavronikita
Image Credit: Manolis Marudis Ulbricht (June 2016)

Welcome to Berlin Byzantine Studies

 

Byzantine Studies as an academic field is committed to the scholarly investigation of the History, Literature, Language(s), Art, and Religion(s) of the Eastern Roman Empire. This part of the Imperium Romanum did not disappear in 476 but survived, as Romania, until 1453, eventually developing its own identity and an eventful history. This Empire survived until its capital Constantinople or Nova Roma Constantinoupolis, formally known as Byzantion, was conquered by the Ottomans; the city is known today as Istanbul, which derives from the Greek “In-the-City”.

This internationally and interdisciplinary oriented field is fully conveyed through both research and teaching, with the emphasis falling on literary criticism. Byzantine Studies in this Institute can be seen as a link between Ancient and Modern Greek studies, although the relationship between the Greek culture of the Middle Ages and the Arabs, Oriental Christians – such as the Armenians, Syrians, and Copts –, Jews, and Orthodox Slavonic peoples, is also a focal point of research and teaching at the Institute. This academic field is only offered at a few universities throughout Germany but it is exclusively the Freie Universität Berlin that provides students the opportunity to become acquainted with all the phases of Greek literature and its spoken history from Antiquity to the present. It is perhaps most accurate to describe Byzantine Studies as a bridging discipline.

 

Berlin Byzantine Studies pursues a rare avenue of research, namely the relationship of Byzantium to the Near East from Late Antiquity until the Early Modern Period. This not only concerns the relationship with Islam – both in a religious and political sense of the notion of “Islam” –, but also that to Judaism and Oriental Christians. Therefore, sources in Arabic, Syriac, Hebrew, Coptic, Armenian, and Georgian are also treated here. Byzantium is understood as a point of convergence, which concerns the cultural exchange on all levels between the Near East and the emerging West. Musical tradition in particular falls into this category, as it represents a living aspect of Byzantine culture that is still being actively practised today.

  

It is a singular interest of Berlin Byzantine Studies, in accordance with the future-oriented concept of institutional strategy of the Freie Universität Berlin, to effectively integrate the ongoing research of the chair of Byzantine Studies into the regular curriculum for students. Through this research-orientated teaching, our students and the students of neighboring disciplines will be actively introduced to the questions of ongoing research projects in an interdisciplinary manner.

Therefore, we regularly offer ‘research internships’ that undergraduate students may attend as well as masters students. It is the goal of our efforts to introduce the students as early as possible to the methods and approaches of this future-orientated teaching at one of the best network universities in Germany. Another characteric example of a sustainable combination of research and teaching at Berlin Byzantine Studies is the conceptualization and successful application of the teaching project “Digitalizing Philology – Corpus Coranicum Christianum, which has been prepared in a teacher-student collaboration from the beginning to the moment of the – successful – application. It directly integrates the research into the regular teaching curriculum. On all levels, we represent this interaction between researchers and students!

  

For more information about our undergraduate program in Byzantine Studies, please visit our page on the platform OSA. For an up-to-date glimpse at the key areas of research at Berlin Byzantine Studies as well as at the courses being offered we invite you to visit our website. On our website you can also find information about our projects and current activities for our students and those who are interested.

If you have any questions or suggestions, please don’t hesitate to contact us at berliner.byzantinistik@klassphil.fu-berlin.de. Whether it be students or guests – we look forward to meeting you!

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Professur Byzantinistik

Der Heilige Berg Athos mit dem Kloster Stavronikitα

Der Heilige Berg Athos mit dem Kloster Stavronikitα
Bildquelle: Manolis Marudis Ulbricht (Juni 2016)

Willkommen bei der Berliner Byzantinistik !

 

Die Byzantinistik als Fach ist die wissenschaftliche Beschäftigung mit der Geschichte, Literatur, Sprache, Kunst und (den) Religion(en) des Oströmischen Reiches. Dieser Teil des Imperium Romanum ging 476 nicht unter, sondern erlebte bis 1453 mit seiner Eigenbezeichnung Romanía eine wechselvolle Geschichte. Erst dann wurde dessen Hauptstadt Konstantinopel oder: Nova Roma Constantinoupolis, archaisierend Byzantion genannt, von den Osmanen erobert und ist nun weithin als İstanbul bekannt, was „In-die-Stadt“ bedeutet.

Die Teilbereiche des international und interdisziplinär ausgerichteten Faches werden in Forschung und Lehre umfassend vertreten; der Schwerpunkt liegt jedoch auf der Literaturwissenschaft. Byzantinistik kann demnach als ein Bindeglied zwischen der Altgräzistik und der Neogräzistik beschrieben werden; aber auch die Beziehungen der mittelalterlichen griechischen Kultur zu den Arabern, den christlichen Orientalen – wie den Armeniern, Syrern und Kopten –, den Juden und den orthodoxen Slawen stehen im Zentrum von Forschung und Lehre. Das Fach ist deutschlandweit nur an wenigen Universitäten vertreten. An der Freien Universität Berlin besteht die singuläre Möglichkeit, alle Phasen der griechischen Literatur- und Sprachgeschichte von der Antike bis heute kennenzulernen. Brückenwissenschaft – so lässt sich der Anspruch der Byzantinistik am besten beschreiben.

 

Die Berliner Byzantinistik vertritt ein selten verfolgtes Profil, nämlich die Beziehungen von Byzanz zum Nahen Osten und zwar von der Spätantike bis in die Frühe Neuzeit. Dies betrifft die Verhältnisse zum Islam, sei er religiös oder politisch aufgefasst, zum Judentum und zu den orientalischen Christen. Daher werden hier ebenso Quellen in arabischer, syrischer, hebräischer, koptischer, armenischer und georgischer Sprache studiert. Byzanz wird begriffen als Knotenpunkt, über den sich die Kulturen des Vorderen Orients mit dem entstehenden Abendland auf allen Ebenen austauschten. Hierzu gehört auch die Musik – der vielleicht lebendigste Teil des byzantinischen Erbes, der bis heute aktiv gepflegt wird.

 

Ein besonderes Anliegen der Berliner Byzantinistik ist es, im Sinne des Zukunftskonzepts der Freien Universität Berlin, die an der Professur Byzantinistik betriebene Forschung nachhaltig in den ordentlichen Lehrbetrieb für die Studierenden zu integrieren. Durch diese Forschungsorientierte Lehre werden unsere Studierenden sowie Studierende der Nachbarfächer in interdisziplinärer Weise aktiv in Fragestellungen aktueller Forschungsprojekte miteinbezogen.

Dafür werden regelmäßig Forschungspraktika angeboten, die nicht nur im Master-Studium, sondern auch bereits auf Bachelor-Niveau belegt werden können. Ziel ist es, die Studierenden an einer der stärksten Netzwerkuniversitäten Deutschlands möglichst frühzeitig an Methoden und Arbeitsweisen zukunftsorientierter Forschung heranzuführen. Ein weiteres Beispiel der aktiv betriebenen Verknüpfung von Forschung und Lehre an der Berliner Byzantinistik ist etwa das Lehrprojekt namens „Digitalisierung der Philologie – Das Corpus Coranicum Christianum, welches gemeinsam mit Studierenden konzipiert und beantragt und für welches erfolgreich Mittel eingeworben wurden. Das Zusammenspiel von Forschenden und Lehrenden an der Professur Byzantinistik vertreten wir auf allen Ebenen!

 

Informieren können sich angehende Studierende und Interessierte über Inhalte und Aufbau des Studiums der Byzantinistik auf unserer OSA-Seite. Für die aktuellen Forschungsschwerpunkte und das Lehrangebot an der Berliner Byzantinistik sowie für weiterführende Informationen über unsere Projekte und fortlaufenden Aktivitäten für unsere Studierenden und Interessierten laden wir Sie ein, unsere Website zu besuchen.

Bei Fragen oder Anregungen wenden Sie sich bitte gerne an uns, die berliner.byzantinistik@klassphil.fu-berlin.de! Wir freuen uns auf Sie – sei es als Studierender oder als Gasthörer!