Hyuntaek Yim

Hyuntaek Yim

Hyuntaek Yim

E-Mail: yim [at] grako-schrift.fu-berlin.de

 

Ph.D. Project

"The Notation of Traditional Korean Music: The Relationship between the Korean Writing System and the Jeongganbo Notation System"

 

Draft

The Jeongganbo notation system is the earliest Asian mensural notation with pitch and duration.  It was invented in the middle of the 15th century by Sejong (1397-1450), the fourth king of the Joseon Dynasty (1392-1910), and used first in the historical musical manuscript Sejongsilrokakbo “The Score of the Royal Annals of Sejong.  After, the contemporary Jeonggan notation was newly systematized in the 1970s by Ki-soo Kim (1917-1986).

Today’s Korean script Hangeul, which consists of 14 basic consonants and 10 basic vowels, originates in the indigenous Korean script Hunminjeongeum “The Proper Sounds for the Instruction of the People.  Hunminjeongeum signifies both the name of the Korean alphabet that was invented in 1443 by King Sejong, and the title of the book that was published in 1446 containing a manual for the use of this alphabet.  In this book, the production principle of the new letters, the explanation of the Initial, Medial and Final Sounds for each word, the letter combinations, and examples of letter usage, are described.

In my dissertation, I study the relationship between the Korean writing system and the Jeongganbo notation system: the various phenomenal rules and properties which characterize the indigenous Korean script Hangeul are reflected in the traditional Korean notation system Jeongganbo.

For example, the production and development principles of the Korean letters are probably related to principles of the geometric signs invented by Ki-soo Kim, which were used in the contemporary Jeonggan notation as musical notes.  And the order in which the strokes are drawn during the writing of Korean letters and the arrangement rules (left to right, top to bottom) of the phonetic signs in a syllable are the model for the notation rules of rhythms in a square in Jeonggan notation.  The vertical method of writing (top to bottom) of the Korean script before the middle of the 20th century and the arrangement rule (right to left) within the columns furthermore influenced the arrangement rule within the columns in the Jeonggan notation.

In the middle of the 20th century, the writing direction of Korean, under the increasing influence of European cultures and the development of the printing press and typewriter, was changed from vertical to horizontal.  It is recently maintained by some Korean musicologists that a new horizontal arrangement of the Jeongganbo notation system would guarantee better readability than the previous vertical arrangement, and furthermore would let the notes be more easily handled and be combined with today’s horizontal method of writing.  Therefore, the question of whether the contemporary Jeongganbo notation system should be changed from being based on the model of today’s vertically oriented writing system to being horizontally oriented is an object of ongoing debate.

The goals of my research are: to trace the processes through which the traditional Korean Jeongganbo notation system changed in relation to the Korean writing system, to work out which direct and indirect influence the Korean writing system had on the Jeongganbo notation system, and to consider whether a reform of the Jeongganbo notation system is possible on the basis of the change in the Korean writing system.

 

Curriculum Vitae

Since 10/2008 Doctoral Fellow at the DFG Research Training Group “’Notation Iconicity’: On the materiality, perceptibility and operativity of writing” at the Freie Universität Berlin (doctoral adviser: Prof. Dr. Christian Kaden, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin)
09/2006 – 08/2008 Teaching Assistant, Department of Korean Music, College of Music, Seoul National University
03/2005 – 08/2006 Research Assistant, Department of Korean Music, College of Music, Seoul National University
03/2004 – 08/2007 Master, Department of Korean Music, College of Music, Seoul National University (Major: Composition)
03/1995 – 02/2002 Bachelor, Department of Korean Music, College of Arts, Dan-kook University (Major: Instrument Geomungo)

 

« return to list

Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Hyuntaek Yim

Hyuntaek Yim

Hyuntaek Yim

Hyuntaek Yim

 

E-Mail: yim [at] schriftbildlichkeit.de

 

Dissertationsvorhaben

"Die Notation traditioneller koreanischer Musik: Die Beziehung zwischen dem koreanischen Schriftsystem und dem Jeongganbo Notationssystem"

 

Projektbeschreibung

Das Jeongganbo Notationssystem ist die erste Mensuralnotation mit Tonhöhe und Tondauer in Asien. Es wurde in der Mitte des 15. Jahrhunderts von Sejong (1397-1450), dem vierten König der Joseon Dynastie (1392-1910), erfunden und zum ersten Mal in der historischen Musikhandschrift Sejongsilrokakbo,„Die Partitur der königlichen Annalen von Sejong, verwendet. Danach wurde die zeitgenössische Jeonggan-Notation in den 70er Jahren des 20. Jahrhunderts von Ki-soo Kim (1917-1986) neu systematisiert.

Die heutige koreanische Schrift Hangeul, die aus 14 Grundkonsonanten und 10 Grundvokalen besteht, geht auf die eigenständige koreanische Schrift Hunminjeongeum, „Die richtigen Laute zur Unterweisung des Volkes“, zurück. Hunminjeongeum ist sowohl der Name des koreanischen Alphabets, das 1443 vom König Sejong erfunden wurde, als auch der Titel des Buches, das 1446 mit einer detaillierten Anleitung zusammen veröffentlicht wurde. Dort wird das Herstellungsprinzip der neuen Buchstaben erläutert, eine Erklärung zu den Anfangs-, den Mittel-, und den Endlauten sowie den Buchstabenkombinationen gegeben, und es werden Beispiele für die Buchstabenverwendung beschrieben.

In meinem Forschungsprojekt geht es um den Zusammenhang zwischen dem koreanischen Schriftsystem und dem Jeongganbo Notationssystem: Die verschiedenen phänomenalen Regeln und Eigenschaften, die die eigenständige koreanische Schrift Hangeul auszeichnen, spiegeln sich im traditionellen koreanischen Notationssystem Jeongganbo wider.

Beispielsweise werden das Herstellungs- und Entwicklungsprinzip der koreanischen Buchstaben vermutlich in Verbindung mit den Prinzipien der von Ki-soo Kim erfundenen geometrischen Zeichen stehen, die in der zeitgenössischen Jeonggan-Notation zur Notierung verwendet wurden. Und die Reihenfolge, in der bei der Schreibung der koreanischen Buchstaben die Striche gezogen werden, und die Anordnungsregeln (links→rechts, oben→unten) der Phonemzeichen in einer Silbe sind Vorbild für die Notierungsregeln der Rhythmen in einem Quadrat in der Jeonggan-Notation. Die senkrechte Schreibweise (oben→unten) der koreanischen Schrift vor der Mitte des 20. Jahrhunderts und die Anordnungsregel (rechts→links) innerhalb der Spalten beeinflussten außerdem die Anordnungsregel innerhalb der Spalten in der Jeonggan-Notation.

In der Mitte des 20. Jahrhunderts wurde die Schreibrichtung des Koreanischen unter zunehmendem Einfluss der europäischen Kulturen und der Entwicklung der Druck- und Schreibmaschinen von senkrecht nach waagrecht verändert. Es wird neuestens von einigen koreanischen Musikwissenschaftlern behauptet, dass eine neue, waagrechte Anordnung des Jeongganbo Notationssystems eine bessere Lesbarkeit gewährleisten würde, als die bisherige senkrechte Anordnung, und sich darüber hinaus leichter handhaben und mit der heutigen waagrechten Schreibweise in Büchern kombinieren ließe. Deshalb ist die Frage, ob das zeitgenössische Jeongganbo Notationssystem nach dem Vorbild des heutigen Schriftsystems von der senkrechten Notierungsweise auf die waagrechte umgestellt werden soll, Gegenstand einer andauernden Debatte.

Ziel meiner Forschungen ist es, die Prozesse nachzuzeichnen, durch die sich das traditionelle koreanische Jeongganbo Notationssystem im Verhältnis zum koreanischen Schriftsytem veränderte, herauszuarbeiten, welchen unmittelbaren und mittelbaren Einfluss das koreanische Schriftsystem auf das Jeongganbo Notationssystem nahm, und zu überlegen, ob aufgrund der Veränderung des koreanischen Schriftsystems eine Reform des Jeongganbo Notationssystems möglich ist.

 

Curriculum Vitae

Seit 1.10.2008

Stipendiat am Graduiertenkolleg „Schriftbildlichkeit“ an der Freien Universität Berlin (Betreuer: Prof. Dr. Christian Kaden, Humboldt- Universiät zu Berlin)

09/2006 – 08/2008

Teaching Assistant am Institut für koreanische Musik der Seoul National University

03/2005 – 08/2006

Research Assistant am Institut für koreanische Musik der Seoul National University

03/2004 – 08/2007

Master am Institut für koreanische Musik der Seoul National University (Hauptfach: Komposition)

03/1995 – 02/2002

Bachelor am Institut für koreanische Musik der Dan-kook University (Hauptfach: Instrument Geomungo)

 

« zur Übersicht

Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
Dahlem Research School