Eike Wittrock

Eike Wittrock

Eike Wittrock

E-Mail: wittrock [at] grako-schrift.fu-berlin.de

 

Ph.D. Project

"The Arabesque as dance figure of the Romantic Ballet"

 

Draft

The Arabesque is a central figure of the Romantic Ballet, the era of stage dance that developed between 1830 and 1850 mainly in Paris. An analysis of these ballets revolving around this figure allows to unfold central questions of notation and iconicity in dance.

During the time of the Romantic Ballet, no system of dance notation was developed to register the technical and aesthetic innovations of these dances. The Arabesque of the Romantic Ballet, which exemplifies these innovations, can be reconstructed and analyzed from a hybrid body of material. On the basis of visual sources, different text forms (reviews, treatises, descriptions of dance classes) and notations that combine pictorial, diagrammatical and textual elements, the position of the Arabesque in a possible grammar of ballet as well as how this figure integrates narration and the ornament of movement can be determined. The Arabesque articulates the transition from an expressive image in dance to an ornament of movement and the dancer's body as an abstract network of lines.

Subsequently, with reference to the Arabesque a theory of the line has to be developed in comparison to Hogarth's „Line of Beauty". This line-theory combines different art forms within a general and abstract aesthetic principle, with a special focus on dance, since it is mainly a theory of the moving/moved line. Being a form of movement itself the Arabesque captures movement. Thus, the Arabesque as figure of the Romantic Ballet is more than an expressive phrase – it also the attempt to notate movement in a moving medium.

 

Curriculum Vitae

Since 9/2008

Doctoral fellow at the DFG Research Training Group "'Notational Iconicity': On the materiality, perceptibility and operativity of writing" at the Freie Universität Berlin.

2007

Magister Degree in Theater Studies with a thesis on Merce Cunningham's Beach Birds for Camera and the question of mimesis

2001-07

Studies in Theater Studies at the Freie Universität Berlin and Musicology at the Humboldt-Universität Berlin with focus on dance, opera and aesthetic theory

 

2008/09

Artistic Director of the 6th Context Festival Politics of Ecstasy/Altered States of Presence at Hebbel am Ufer, Berlin (together with Jeremy Wade)

2007

Research for the Pain-Exhibition at Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart Berlin

2006-08

Audience introductions at Komische Oper Berlin

Dramaturgies for Daniel Cremer (Eva. Das intrigante Stück, Schauspiel Köln) and Jeremy Wade (Throwing Rainbows Up, Les Subsistances Lyon u.a.)

 

« return to list

Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Eike Wittrock

Eike Wittrock

Eike Wittrock

Eike Wittrock

 

E-Mail: wittrock [at] schriftbildlichkeit.de

 

Dissertationsvorhaben

"Die Arabeske als Tanzfigur der Romantik"

 

Projektbeschreibung

Die Arabeske ist zentrale Figur des Romantischen Balletts, der Epoche des Bühnentanzes, die sich zwischen 1830 und 1850 hauptsächlich in Paris entwickelt hat. Eine Untersuchung dieser Ballette anhand dieser Figur eröffnet die Möglichkeit zentrale Fragen der Notation und Bildlichkeit im Tanz zu entfalten.

Zur Zeit des Romantischen Balletts hat sich keine Tanznotation entwickelt, die die technischen und ästhetischen Neuerungen dieser Tänze erfassen konnte. Die Arabeske des Romantischen Balletts, in der sich diese Neuerungen exemplarisch darstellen, ist aus einem hybriden Materialkorpus zu rekonstruieren und zu analysieren. Anhand von Bildmaterial, verschiedenen Textformen (Kritiken, Traktaten, Unterrichtsbeschreibungen) und Notationen, die Bild, Diagramm und Text verbinden, ist herauszuarbeiten, welche Position die Arabeske in einer möglichen Grammatik des Balletts einnimmt, und wie gerade diese Figur Narration und Bewegungs-Ornament integriert. Die Arabeske formuliert den Übergang vom tänzerischen Ausdrucksbild zum Bewegungsornament und dem Tänzerkörper als abstraktem Liniengeflecht.

Im Vergleich mit Hogarths line of beauty lässt sich im Anschluss daran eine Theorie der Linie in Bezug auf die Arabeske formulieren, die verschiedene Künste – und als bewegte Linie eben ganz besonders den Tanz – in ein generelles abstraktes ästhetisches Prinzip überführt. So fängt die arabeske Linie als Form der Bewegung Bewegung selbst ein. Die Arabeske als Figur des Romantischen Balletts wäre somit mehr als eine Ausdrucksfloskel, nämlich auch der Versuch Bewegung in einem bewegten Medium zu denotieren.

 

Curriculum Vitae

Seit 10/2008

Promotionsstipendium im Rahmen des Graduiertenkollegs "'Schriftbildlichkeit': Über Materialität, Wahrnehmbarkeit und Operativität von Notationen an der Freien Universität Berlin

2007

Magisterabschluss mit einer Arbeit über Merce Cunninghams Beach Birds for Camera und die Frage nach der Mimesis

2001-2007

Studium der Theaterwissenschaft an der Freien Universität Berlin und der Musikwissenschaft an der Humboldt-Universität Berlin mit Schwerpunkten auf Tanz, Oper und Ästhetische Theorie

 

2008/2009

Künstlerische Leitung des Context-Festival #6 Politics of Ecstasy/Altered States of Presence am Hebbel am Ufer, Berlin (gemeinsam mit Jeremy Wade)

2007

Musik-Recherche für die Ausstellung Schmerz. Kunst und Wissenschaft im Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart Berlin

2006-2008

Werkeinführungen an der Komischen Oper Berlin

Dramaturgien für Daniel Cremer (Eva. Das intrigante Stück, Schauspiel Köln) und Jeremy Wade (Throwing Rainbows Up, Les Subsistances Lyon u.a.).

 

« zur Übersicht

Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
Dahlem Research School