Michael Wamposzyc

E-Mail: wamposzyc [at] grako-schrift.fu-berlin.de

 

Ph.D. Project

"Typography and visual forms of representation in journals. Operativity and aesthetics of journal covers in Poland and Germany from 1945 to the present"

 

Draft

The doctoral thesis presents a comparative analysis of the front pages of two political news journals from Germany and Poland: "Der Spiegel" and "Polityka". The focus of the thesis are visual aspects of design specific to these journals, considered from the perspective of system-theoretical and empirical evidence from media and communication studies. Using empirical analysis, the discussion aims to clarify how visual forms of representation in the years 1945 - 2008 contributed to the development of modern, independent operational and aesthetic communication codes in both countries.

The dual nature of script as a linguistic and visual system of symbols places the typography of the journal covers in a state of tension between its linguistic and visual functions. The graphically variable and at the same time mechanically reproducible structure of print allows varied shape semantizations in typographic characteristics. Such characteristics offer the reader a range of emotional stimuli, historical allusions or cultural-ideological content. The wider scope of linguistic communication, which is achieved through the combination of graphic images with text, requires further analysis of the interaction between text and image. An accurate account of the symbiosis of both text and image systems produces a connotative description of the typography together with an analytical description of the images and forms a system theoretical structural coupling of the notational iconicity.

The role played by topicality takes on greater importance within the context of the mass media than within the context of any other functional system. Due to the regular publication of journals over long periods of time, it is necessary for the covers to present aesthetic consistency, whilst at the same time operating variety and originality in representation. In journalistic practice, this duality means a high degree of concentration on individual events and topics, strictly bound in its visual format to the commonly accepted aesthetic zeitgeist.

 

Curriculum Vitae

Since 10/2008

Doctoral Fellow at the DFG Research Training Group “’Notational Iconicity’: On the materiality, perceptibility and operativity of writing”, Freie Universität Berlin (DFG grant)

2008

Meisterschüler in Visual Communication with Prof. Joachim Sauter, Universität der Künste Berlin

2006

MA in Visual Communication. Thesis topic „Aesthetic Practice as Orientation in Visual Process“, Universität der Künste Berlin

2005

Exchange semester at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago (NICA grant)

2004

Exchange semester at the London College of Communication (Erasmus grant)

2003-04

Student tutor for Prof. Holger Matthies, Universität der Künste Berlin

2002-04

Freelance Art Director for „Töchter und Söhne“, Student Communication Agency

2000-06

Studies in Visual Communication and Experimental Media, Universität der Künste Berlin, Institute for Transmedia Design

 

« return to list

Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Michael Wamposzyc

Michael Wamposzyc

 

E-Mail: wamposzyc [at] schriftbildlichkeit.de

 

Dissertationsvorhaben

"Typographie und visuelle Darstellungsformen im Medium Zeitschrift.
Operativität und Ästhetik der Titelblätter in Polen und Deutschland von 1945 bis heute"

 

Projektbeschreibung

Das Promotionsvorhaben stellt eine vergleichenden Analyse der Titelblätter von zwei politischen Nachrichtenmagazinen aus Deutschland und Polen vor: dem „Spiegel“ und der „Polityka“. Gegenstand der Diskussion soll das jeweilige spezifische Design, betrachtet aus der Perspektive der systemtheoretischen und empirischen Erkenntnisse aus Medien- und Kommunikationswissenschaften sein. Mittels empirischer Analyse soll geklärt werden, wie die Verwendung der visuellen Darstellungsformen in den Jahren 1945 – 2008 zur Entwicklung heutiger, eigenständiger operativer und ästhetischer Kommunikations-Codes in beiden Ländern geführt hat.

Die Doppelnatur von Schrift als sprachliches und visuelles Zeichensystem stellt die Typographie der Titelblätter in ein Spannungsfeld von sprachlicher und visueller Kommunikation. Die graphisch variable und zugleich maschinell reproduzierbare Zeichenstruktur von Druckschrift erlaubt vielfältige Semantisierungen von typographischen Gestaltqualitäten. Diese können dem Leser als unterschiedliche emotionale Reize, historische Anspielungen oder weltanschaulich-ideologische Inhalte mitgeteilt werden. Infolge der Erweiterung des sprachlichen Kommunikationsspielraums durch Bilder wird zusätzlich die Analyse der Typographieanwendung auf die Interpretation der Text/Bild-Wechselwirkung angewiesen sein. Eine adäquate Beschreibung der Symbiose beider Systeme bringt eine konnotative Beschreibung der Typographie in Zusammenhang mit einer analytischen Beschreibung der Bilder und bildet eine systemtheoretische strukturelle Kopplung der Schriftbildlichkeit.

Wie in keinem anderen Funktionssystem spielt in den Massenmedien die Aktualität und Zeitabhängigkeit eine besondere Rolle. Durch das periodische Erscheinen über lange Zeiträume müssen die Titelblätter einer Zeitschrift einerseits eine ästhetische Konstanz und Zusammengehörigkeit darstellen, und andererseits eine operative Varianz und Originalität aufweisen, um nicht mit den vorherigen Ausgaben verwechselt zu werden. In der publizistischen Praxis bedeutet das eine weitgehende Konzentration auf Einzelereignisse und Einzellthemen, die in ihrer visuellen Darstellungsform strikt an den allgemeinen ästhetischen Zeitgeist gebunden werden.

 

 

Curriculum Vitae

Seit 10/2008

Doktorand im Graduiertenkolleg „Schriftbildlichkeit“ an der Freien Universität Berlin (DFG–Stipendium)

2008

Ernennung zum Meisterschüler im Studiengang Visuelle Kommunikation an der Universität der Künste Berlin bei Prof. Joachim Sauter

2006

Diplom der Universität der Künste Berlin mit der Bewertung: „sehr gut“, Thema „Ästhetische Praxis als Orientierung im Visuellen Prozess“

2005

Auslandssemester an der School of Art Institute Chicago (NICA–Stipendium)

2004

Auslandssemester am London College of Communication (Erasmus–Stipendium)

2003-2004

Mitarbeit als studentische Hilfskraft an der Universität der Künste Berlin, Tutorenstelle bei Prof. Holger Matthies

2002-2004

Freie Mitarbeit als Art–Director in der studentischen Kommunikationsagentur „Töchter und Söhne“

2000-2006

Studium der Visuellen Kommunikation und Experimenteller Mediengestaltung an der Universität der Künste Berlin, Institut für Transmediale Gestaltung

 

« zur Übersicht

Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
Dahlem Research School