Welcome to the Website of the Institute of Philosophy at Freie Universität Berlin!

The Institute of Philosophy at Freie Universität Berlin is one of the major, longstanding institutes of philosophy in Germany and can look back on a remarkable history, having been the workplace of many prominent figures, including Wilhelm Weischedel, Margherita von Brentano, Karlfried Gründer, Jacob Taubes, Ernst Tugendhat, Michael Theunissen, Albrecht Wellmer, and Peter Bieri. Ever since it was founded, the institute has been distinguished by its disciplinary breadth and diversity. Its current members engage in research and teaching activities in eight thematic divisions that focus on topics including analytical philosophy, phenomenology, classical Germany philosophy, post-structuralism, and the history of philosophy.

We view philosophy as an invitation to think for oneself. At our institute, you can study philosophy independently, on a broad basis, and systematically. Even before you finish your studies, we invite you to grow into the field of research via the lively research scene at the institute (with meetings, conferences, colloquia, and lecture series) and the many interdisciplinary ties that exist with collaborative research centers and clusters of excellence at Freie Universität. The institute maintains an outstanding international network. The Philological Library, located right near the institute, and the University Library both have excellent philosophical holdings, allowing students to work efficiently and productively. The institute building itself is also an ideal study environment. Designed by architects Hinrich and Inken Baller, it boasts a green outdoor setting and glass façade, a garden and rooms flooded with light.

The Institute of Philosophy offers both bachelor’s and master’s degree programs, and doctoral candidates are also welcome. The institute believes philosophy should be studied independently and according to the student’s interests. In line with this approach, the institute offers a short and intensive orientation phase during the bachelor’s degree program, when students are taught thematic foundations and methods of working in philosophy. With the same emphasis on independent working, the rest of the bachelor’s degree program – and, to an even greater extent, the master’s degree program – is distinguished by the fact that students are given as much freedom as possible to pursue their systematic and historical interests on a deeper and more advanced level.

Herzlich willkommen auf der Homepage des Instituts für Philosophie der FU Berlin!

Das Institut für Philosophie der Freien Universität Berlin ist eines der großen, traditionsreichen Philosophieinstitute in Deutschland und kann auf eine beachtliche Geschichte zurückschauen: Hier wirkten unter anderem Wilhelm Weischedel, Margherita von Brentano, Karlfried Gründer, Jacob Taubes, Ernst Tugendhat, Michael Theunissen, Albrecht Wellmer und Peter Bieri. Seit seiner Gründung zeichnet sich das Institut durch seine disziplinäre Vielfalt aus. Seine heutigen Mitglieder forschen und lehren in derzeit acht thematischen Arbeitsbereichen u.a. in der analytischen Philosophie, der Phänomenologie, der klassischen deutschen Philosophie, im Poststrukturalismus und in der Geschichte der Philosophie.

Philosophie verstehen wir als Einladung zum Selbstdenken. An unserem Institut können Sie selbständig, breit gefächert und systematisch Philosophie studieren. Bereits während des Studiums laden wir Sie ein, über das rege Forschungsleben am Institut (mit Tagungen, Colloquien und Ringvorlesungen) und die vielfältigen interdisziplinären Verbindungen zu Sonderforschungsbereichen und Exzellenzclustern an der Freien Universität in die Forschung hineinzuwachsen. Das Institut ist international hervorragend vernetzt. Die philologische Bibliothek in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft des Instituts sowie die Universitätsbibliothek sind philosophisch sehr gut ausgestattet und ermöglichen ein effizientes und produktives Arbeiten. Nicht zuletzt ist das von den Architekten Hinrich und Inken Baller entworfene Institutsgebäude im Grünen mit seiner Glasfassade, dem Garten und den lichtdurchfluteten Räumen ein ideales Studienumfeld.

Das Institut für Philosophie bietet einen Bachelor- und einen Masterstudiengang an. Selbstverständlich können Sie am Institut auch promovieren. Das Institut geht davon aus, dass Philosophie selbständig und nach Interesse studiert werden sollte. So bietet es eine intensive, dabei knappe Orientierungsphase im Bachelor an, in der Ihnen thematische Grundlagen und philosophische Arbeitsweisen vermittelt werden. Das weitere Bachelorstudium, noch stärker aber das Masterstudium, zeichnet sich im Sinne des selbständigen Arbeitens dadurch aus, dass die Studierenden möglichst frei ihren systematischen und historischen Interessen vertiefend nachgehen können.