The School of Platonism – Commentaries on Plato in Late Antiquity

In late antiquity, Platonic philosophy consisted mainly of commentaries on the dialogues of Plato.  Beginning with an anonymous Middle Platonic commentary on the Theaetetus and culminating in the great commentaries of Proclus, Damascius and Olympiodorus, Platonic  antiquity has given us a substantial number of commentaries on Plato.

These texts belong to a school curriculum, which has its distinct conceptual foundation in the philosophy of Plato.  This curriculum was developed by Iamblichus and practiced until well into the 7th century.  Its goal was a systematic and didactic-anagogic introduction to the philosophy of Plato.

The extant commentaries come from this school curriculum, which was practiced in the two centers of Platonism in late antiquity, Athens and Alexandria.  The importance of these methodological and hermeneutic approaches to Plato’s philosophy still to this day hasn’t been fully realized and the approaches themselves consistently used for the interpretation of Plato.

The Leibniz research project “The School of Platonism – Commentaries on Plato” is an attempt to fully give these commentaries their due.  One focal point of this project is the commentary on the dialogue Parmenides, which was seen by the ancient commentators as the summit and epitome of Platonic metaphysics, dialectic and theology.

Die Hohe Schule des Platonismus - Platonkommentierung in der Spätantike

Platonische Philosophie war in der Spätantike wesentlich Kommentierung der Dialoge Platons. Von einem anonymen mittelplatonischen Theaitet-Kommentar angefangen bis hin zu den großen Kommentaren des Proklos, Damaskios und Olympiodors ist uns aus der platonischen Antike ein umfangreiches Corpus an Platonkommentaren überliefert.

Diese Texte gehören einer inhaltlich zusammenstimmenden Unterrichtskonzeption an, die von Iamblich entwickelt wurde und bis ins 7. Jahrhundert praktiziert wurde. Ihr Ziel war eine systematische und didaktisch-anagogische Einführung in die Philosophie Platons.

Die uns überlieferten Kommentare stammen aus diesem Unterricht, der in den beiden Zentren des Platonismus der Spätantike, in Athen und Alexandria, praktiziert wurden. Die Bedeutung dieser methodisch und hermeneutisch reflektierten Zugänge zu Platons Philosophie ist bis heute nicht hinreichend bedacht und für die Platoninterpretation erschlossen worden.

Das Leibnizprojekt „Die Hohe Schule des Platonismus – Platonkommentierung in der Spätantike“ wendet sich diesem Desiderat zu. Ein Schwerpunkt dieser Erschließungsarbeit ist dabei die Kommentierung zum Dialog Parmenides, der als Gipfel und Inbegriff der platonischen Prinzipienlehre, Dialektik und Theologie gelesen wurde.