Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Who can apply?

Admission to our doctoral studies programme requires proof of successfully completed university studies and a qualified PhD project corresponding to the research profile of the Research Training Group. Art projects cannot be sponsored.

How to apply?

You can find further information on the application process here. Incomplete application documents will not be considered. Due to the high number of requests, a review of application documents before the deadline is not possible!

What are the deadlines for applying?

The next deadline for the enrolement in the doctoral programme has not been set yet. If applications will become possible in 2014, the deadline for application is likely to be on 1May, 2014. Doctoral scholarships will be advertized on the website of the Research Training Group.  Please apply only for advertized doctoral scholarships. Unsolicited applications cannot be considered.

What is the duration of the scholarship?

In general, scholarships are awarded for a period of two years, with a possibility of extension for one further year in justified cases.

What is the amount of the scholarship?

The Research Training Group offers a monthly grant of currently EUR 1.365 plus EUR 103 for material costs. Parents receive an additional EUR 400 for their first child, and EUR 100, for each subsequent child.  

What is the study programme?

The doctoral program includes a fortnightly research colloquium,  workshops, lectures by visiting scholars as well as conferences and symposia organized by the Research Training Group. Participation in the study programme is mandatory.

Are German language skills required before submitting the application?

Yes. The classes are mostly held in German. Doctoral fellows of the International Research Training Group ‘Interart Studies’ must enrol for the doctoral studies programme ‘Interart Studies’ at Freie Universität which requires proof of German language skills at level DSH 2. For further information, please visit the websites of the TestDaF or the Goethe Institute. In exceptional cases, applicants who cannot prove sufficient language skills before the application deadline can be provisionally admitted to the doctoral programme 'InterArt Studies'. The language certificate must then be submitted within the first semester.

What language skills are required? 

Very good English skills are mandatory. The level B2 GER corresponds to seven years of English instruction at school. The following are recognized as equivalent: IELTS 5.0, TOEFL (Paper 500 or Computer 170 or Internet 80). Knowledge of another language is considered desirable.

Is it possible to apply for a scholarship already before the completion of university studies?

 In order to consider your application, we would ask you to hand in a preliminary opinion on your final thesis confirming the expected excellent university degree. It should be enclosed with your application. In exceptional cases, the opinion can be sent directly to the Research Training Group by the reviewer. Should you be admitted to our doctoral programme, you must submit a certified copy of your university degree two months before the start of the scholarship.

Are there residency requirements for the duration of the scholarship?

As a general rule, doctoral fellows are expected to relocate to Berlin for the duration of their scholarship to be able to regularly participate in the study programme of the Research Training Group and to present their research projects.

  Is it possible to participate in the study programme of the Research Training Group without receiving a scholarship?

It is possible for selected doctoral candidates to participate in the programme as associate members. This applies especially to those who receive funding from another source and are looking for a topical exchange with other doctoral fellows. Candidates applying for associate membership must provide a PhD project corresponding to the research profile of the Research Training Group.  Applications for associate membership can be submitted at any time. Currently there are no places available for associate membership.   

Is it possible to receive a scholarship from the Research Traing Group ‘Interart Studies’ if the PhD project has already been sponsored?

This is possible in exceptional cases. If the PhD project has already been funded by the DFG (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft/German Research Foundation), which is the sponsor of the Research Training Group ‘Interart Studies’, no further funding can be granted. 

Which application documents need to be submitted?

 Completed application form

 Short letter of motivation

Synopsis of the research project (approx. 3000 words incl. a selected bibliography and a schedule) and a short abstract of the research project (max. 250 words)


  Bound copy of M.A. thesis incl. a summary (max. 1 page). Final theses written in a language other than German or English do not have to be translated. Please submit a comprehensive summary in English or German instead.

  Letter of recommendation by a professor

  If available, list of publications and one significant publication

 Copies of university diplomas, certificates, etc. (if applicable, certified copies of degree equivalents)

 Certificate of sufficient language skills

bildstreifen

Häufig gestellte Fragen (FAQ)

Wer kann sich bewerben?

Zugangsvoraussetzungen sind ein abgeschlossenes Hochschulstudium sowie ein qualifiziertes Dissertationsprojekt, das auf das thematische und theoretische Forschungsprofil des Graduiertenkollegs bezogen ist. Künstlerische Projekte können nicht gefördert werden.

Wie bewerbe ich mich?

Senden Sie uns Ihre Bewerbung bitte nur auf dem Postweg zu. Bewerbungen per E-Mail sind nach Rücksprache ggf. möglich. Nur vollständig eingereichte Bewerbungsunterlagen können berücksichtigt werden. Aufgrund der Vielzahl von Anfragen kann keine Durchsicht von Bewerbungsunterlagen vor dem Ablauf der Bewerbungsfrist erfolgen!

Welche Bewerbungsfristen gibt es?

Den nächsten Einreichtermin für Bewerbungen finden Sie unter der Rubrik "Bewerbung" auf der Internetseite des Gradiertenkollegs. Bitte bewerben Sie sich nur auf ausgeschriebene Promotionsstipendien bzw. freie Plätze. Initiativbewerbungen sind nicht möglich.

Wie hoch ist das Stipendium?

Das Graduiertenkolleg bietet ein monatliches Stipendium in Höhe von zurzeit 1.365 zzgl. einem Sachkostenzuschuss von 103 Euro. Eltern erhalten zusätzlich 400 Euro pro Monat für das erste und 100 Euro für jedes weitere Kind.

Welches Studienprogramm gibt es?

Das Studienprogramm beinhaltet ein zweiwöchentlich stattfindendes Doktorand/inn/enkolloquium, regelmäßige Workshops, Vorträge von Gastwissenschaftler/inne/n sowie Tagungen und Symposien des Graduiertenkollegs. Die Teilnahme am Studienprogramm ist verpflichtend.

Sind für eine Bewerbung Deutschkenntnisse erforderlich?

Ja. Die Unterrichtssprache des Graduiertenkollegs ist deutsch. Da ein Promotionsstipendium im Internationalen Graduiertenkolleg »InterArt« zudem mit einer Immatrikulation im Promotionsstudiengang »Interart Studies« an der Freien Universität Berlin verbunden ist, sind Deutschkenntnisse auf dem Niveau DSH 2 erforderlich. Diese sind durch ein Sprachzertifikat oder ein gleichwertiges Dokument nachzuweisen. Informationen dazu finden Sie auf den Internetseiten des TestDaF-Instituts und des Goethe-Instituts. In Ausnahmefällen können Bewerber/innen, die zum Bewerbungstermin kein Sprachzertifikat vorweisen können, unter Vorbehalt zum Promotionsstudium »InterArt Studies« zugelassen werden. Der Sprachnachweis ist dann innerhalb des ersten Semesters nachzureichen.

Welche Sprachkenntnisse sind erwünscht?

Sehr gute Englischkenntnisse sind obligatorisch. Das Niveau B2 GER entspricht sieben Jahren Englischunterricht in der Schule, als Äquivalente werden anerkannt: IELTS 5.0, Cambridge Examinations (First Certificate (FCE), Advanced (CAE), Proficiency (CPE)), TOEFL (Paper 500 oder Computer 170 oder Internet 80). Erwünscht sind darüber hinaus Kenntnisse einer weiteren Fremdsprache.

Kann man sich bereits vor Abschluss des Hochschulstudiums um ein Promotionsstipendium bewerben?

 Um Ihre Bewerbungsunterlagen beim Auswahlverfahren berücksichtigen zu können, reichen Sie bitte ein Vorabgutachten Ihrer Abschlussarbeit ein, das den zu erwartenden hervorragenden Abschluss bescheinigt. Das Gutachten sollte den Bewerbungsunterlagen beigelegt werden. In Ausnahmefällen kann es vom Gutachter/von der Gutachterin direkt an das Graduiertenkolleg geschickt werden. Im Fall einer Zulassung zum Promotionsstudium "Interart Studies" können Sie eine beglaubigte Zeugniskopie Ihres Hochschulabschlusses bis spätestens Ende August nachreichen.

Besteht während des Stipendiums Residenzpflicht in Berlin?

In der Regel sollten die Kollegiat/inn/en ihren Wohnsitz während ihrer Förderungszeit in Berlin haben, um an den regelmäßig stattfindenden Veranstaltungen des Kollegs teilnehmen sowie die obligatorischen Präsentationen des eigenen Forschungsprojekts durchführen zu können

Besteht eine Möglichkeit, auch ohne finanzielle Förderung durch das Kolleg an dem Programm des Graduiertenkollegs beteiligt zu werden?

Für ausgewählte Promovend/inn/en besteht die Möglichkeit, als Gäste in das Programm aufgenommen zu werden. Dies ist vor allem für diejenigen sinnvoll, die von anderer Seite ein Stipendium erhalten, aber einen themenbezogenen Austausch mit anderen Doktorand/inn/en suchen. Voraussetzung für die Aufnahme ist ein für die Thematik des Graduiertenkollegs relevantes Forschungsprojekt. Ihre Bewerbung als Gast im Graduiertenkolleg können Sie uns jederzeit zukommen lassen. Derzeit können jedoch keine Gäste aufgenommen werden.

Kann ein Stipendium am Graduiertenkolleg »InterArt« vergeben werden, wenn bereits eine Förderung des Dissertationsprojekts erfolgt ist?

Dies ist in Ausnahmefällen möglich. Wurde das Dissertationsprojekt jedoch bereits zuvor von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft gefördert, die Träger des Graduiertenkollegs »InterArt« ist, so muss diese Förderung auf die weitere Laufzeit der Förderung angerechnet werden.

Welche Bewerbungsunterlagen müssen eingereicht werden und welchen Umfang sollen die einzelnen Dokumente haben?

  ausgefüllter Bewerbungsbogen

  Motivationsschreiben

• ein Exposé Ihres geplanten Dissertationsvorhabens mit Bibliographie und Zeitplan (insgesamt ca. 3000 Wörter) mit vorangestelltem Kurzabstract (max. 250 Wörter) . Der Fokus des Exposés sollte auf der Beschreibung des geplanten Dissertationsprojekts liegen und ca. 1-2 (bei Bedarf zusätzliche) Seiten an ausgewählter Bibliographie sowie den Zeitplan enthalten.

  Tabellarischer Lebenslauf

gebundene Kopie der Abschlussarbeit sowie eine Zusammenfassung der Abschlussarbeit (max. 1 Seite). Abschlussarbeiten, die in einer anderen Sprache als Deutsch oder Englisch verfasst sind, müssen nicht übersetzt werden. Es ist in diesem Fall eine ausführliche Zusammenfassung der Arbeit in deutscher oder englischer Sprache einzureichen.

•  falls vorhanden: Publikationsliste sowie eine aussagekräftige Publikation

Zeugniskopien (ggf. beglaubigte Dokumente bzw. Äquivalenzanerkennungen ausländischer Hochschulabschlüsse)

Nachweis der Sprachqualifikation