Membership in the FSGS

Fundamental aspects of the FSGS membership are regulated by the Graduate School’s regulations.

Who is a member of the Graduate School?

  • faculty responsible for the Graduate School’s application
  • faculty conducting the doctoral studies program full-time as teachers and dissertation supervisors
  • doctoral candidates admitted to the doctoral studies program for Literary Studies without any fixed term limitation

Who can become a member of the Graduate School?

  • Faculty members of Freie Universität Berlin or Humboldt Universität zu Berlin who are qualified to give exams, and who have been chosen as supervisors to any doctoral candidate that has successfully passed the selection process are associated with the Graduate School for their time as supervisors and may submit an informal application for membership to the board. Furthermore, the board may recommend any colleagues and invite them as members.
  • doctoral candidates who are not funded through the Graduate School as long as they fulfill the admission requirements according to §§ 3, 4 in the doctoral studies regulations.

What are the members’ rights and obligations?

  • general meeting:    The general meeting takes place once a year and offers recommendations concerning Graduate School matters. The board develops suggestions based on the decisions taken during the general meeting.
  • election of the board and the director: Every two years, members of the Graduate School elect a director as well as two to four board members from our full-time faculty. Each year, doctoral candidates select a voting member from the doctoral candidates to the board.
  • All members are entitled to submit requests to the board.

Other services for members

FSGS members (faculty, scholars, alumni or guests) are actively involved in the school and have access to the following FSGS opportunities:

Support for organizing events

FSGS members receive financial and administrative support to organize events that are sufficiently integrated in the FSGS. More information can be found under events.

Book and film orders through the Philological Library and the Campus Library at FU Berlin

FSGS members may order books and films they need for research and teaching that are not yet in stock at Freie Universität through the FSGS’s budget. The libraries have a list of people eligible to order.

Please send your book or film request for the Philological Library directly to Monika Schade.

Please send your book request for the Campus Library to Ms. Theresia B. Peucker (Asia) or to Mr. Kamran Haghmoradi (Near/Middle East).

For film orders, please indicate that they are intended for the special location (“Sonderstandort”) Friedrich Schlegel Graduate School. The films are then directly added to the FSGS film catalog.

Scanning and delivery service for articles from the Philological Library at FU Berlin

We are pleased to offer FSGS members a scanning service in cooperation with the Philological Library through which you may order articles from any print magazine, edited volume, reference book entry, and the like that are available at the library. For copyright reasons, the delivered text may not exceed 10% of the publication itself.

Orders with clear bibliographical information (no abbreviations, please) can be made informally via email to this address: digi@philbib.fu-berlin.de. The scanned text, insofar as it is available at the Philological Library, is sent via email within 24 hours Monday through Friday.

For organizational purposes the library asks that orders are only to be made personally, that only one text per email is ordered, and that the text is not already available in electronic form through the FU. The library has a list of FSGS members and their email addresses.

Business cards for the Freie Universität Berlin

Business cards for Freie Universität Berlin have a set format in which we incorporate your information. We are happy to take care of ordering and paying for the business cards for our members. Please contact us via email at the FSGS office.

Department of Philosophy and Humanities
GeschKultLogoEngl
Dahlem Research School
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
logo einstein grau

Mitgliedschaft in der FSGS

Grundlegende Aspekte der Mitgliedschaft in der FSGS sind in der Ordnung der Graduiertenschule geregelt.

Wer ist Mitglied der Graduiertenschule?

  • WissenschaftlerInnen, die an der Antragstellung der Graduiertenschule verantwortlich beteiligt waren
  • WissenschaftlerInnen, die an der Durchführung des Promotionsstudiums als hauptberufliche Lehrkräfte und als BetreuerInnen der Dissertationen wirken
  • Promovierende, die ohne Befristung auf das Promotionsstudium Literaturwissenschaftliche Studien - Literary Studies zugelassen sind

Wer kann Mitglied der Graduiertenschule werden?

  • Prüfungsberechtigte Mitglieder der Freien Universität Berlin oder der Humboldt Universität zu Berlin, die als BetreuerInnen von einer im Auswahlverfahren erfolgreichen Promotionskandidatin / von einem im Auswahlverfahren erfolgreichen Promotionskandidaten angefragt werden, werden für die Zeit der Betreuung der Graduiertenschule assoziiert und können einen formlosen Antrag auf Mitgliedschaft an den Vorstand stellen. Ferner kann der Vorstand jederzeit Kolleginnen und Kollegen für die Mitgliedschaft vorschlagen und dazu einladen.
  • Promovierende, die nicht aus Mitteln der Graduiertenschule finanziert werden, sofern sie die Zugangsvoraussetzungen gemäß §§ 3, 4 der Ordnung für das Promotionsstudium erfüllen.

Welche Rechte und Pflichten haben die Mitglieder?

  • Mitgliederversammlung: Sie findet einmal pro Jahr statt und kann Empfehlungen zu allen Angelegenheiten der Graduiertenschule abgeben. Der Vorstand erarbeitet Vorschläge zu den Beschlussfassungen der Mitgliederversammlung.
  • Wahl des Vorstandes und der Direktorin: Alle zwei Jahre wählen die Mitglieder der Graduiertenschule eine Direktorin / einen Direktor sowie zwei bis vier Vorstandsmitglieder aus dem Kreis der hauptamtlichen WissenschaftlerInnen. Die Promovierenden wählen jährlich ein stimmberechtigtes Mitglied der Promovierenden in den Vorstand.
  • Alle Mitglieder sind berechtigt, Anträge an den Vorstand zu stellen.

Weitere Serviceleistungen für Mitglieder

Mitglieder der FSGS (ProfessorInnen, StipendiatInnen) Alumni und Gäste bringen sich aktiv in die Schule ein und haben Zugang zu folgenden Angeboten der FSGS:

Unterstützung bei der Durchführung von Veranstaltungen

Mitglieder der FSGS erhalten finanzielle und organisatorische Unterstützung bei der Durchführung von Veranstaltungen, deren Einbindung in die FSGS hinreichend geklärt ist. Informationen finden Sie unter Veranstaltungen.

Buch- und Filmbestellung über die Philologische Bibliothek und die Campus Bibliothek der FU Berlin

Mitglieder der FSGS können Bücher und Filme, die sie für Forschung & Lehre benötigen und die in den Beständen der Freien Universität noch nicht vorhanden sind, über das Budget der FSGS bestellen. Eine Liste der Bestellberechtigten liegt den Bibliotheken vor.

Bitte schicken Sie Ihren Bücher- und/oder Filmwunsch im Zuständigkeitsbereich der Philologischen Bibliothek direkt an Monika Schade.

Ihren Bücherwunsch im Zuständigkeitsbereich der Campus Bibliothek schicken Sie bitte an Frau Theresia B. Peucker (Bereich Asien) oder an Herrn Kamran Haghmoradi (Bereich Orient).

Bei Filmbestellungen geben Sie bitte an, dass diese für den Sonderstandort Friedrich-Schlegel-Graduiertenschule vorgesehen sind. Die Filme werden dann in die Filmbestände der FSGS integriert.

Scan- und Lieferservice für Aufsätze aus dem Bestand der Philologischen Bibliothek der FU Berlin

Wir freuen uns, den Mitgliedern der FSGS in Kooperation mit der Philologischen Bibliothek einen Scanservice anbieten zu können, bei dem Sie dringend benötigte Aufsätze aus einer der Bibliothek gedruckt vorliegenden Zeitschrift oder einem Sammelband, einem Eintrag aus einem Handbuch oder ähnliches bestellen können. Aus urheberrechtlichen Gründen darf der gelieferte Textumfang allerdings 10% der Publikation nicht überschreiten.

Bestellungen mit eindeutigen bibliographischen Angaben (bitte ohne Abkürzungen) können formlos per E-Mail an die Adresse digi@philbib.fu-berlin.de aufgeben werden. Der eingescannte Text wird Ihnen, soweit er in der Philologischen Bibliothek verfügbar ist, dann per E-Mail Montag bis Freitag innerhalb von 24 Stunden zugeschickt.

Aus organisatorischen Gründen bittet die Bibliothek darum, die Bestellungen nur persönlich zu schicken und jeweils nur einen Text pro Mail zu bestellen, dabei keine an der FU ohnehin elektronisch verfügbaren Texte. Der Bibliothek liegt eine Liste der Mitglieder der FSGS mit den zugehörigen E-Mail-Adressen vor.

Visitenkarten der Freien Universität Berlin

Für die Visitenkarten der Freien Universität Berlin gibt es ein festgelegtes Format, in das Ihre Informationen eingefügt werden. Gerne übernehmen wir die Bestellung und die Kosten für unsere Mitglieder. Bitte wenden Sie sich per E-Mail an das Sekretariat der FSGS.

Zur Website Fachbereich Philosophie und Geisteswissenschaften
GeschKultLogo
Dahlem Research School
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
logo einstein grau