Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Bilingual prosody: Meter, rhythm, and intonation in multilingual contact situations

 

(este página em português / en español)

 

About the project

This project aims to improve our understanding of prosody in multilingually competent speakers. No other American language is spoken as a first language by as many people as Quechua is, yet very little research has focused on its meter, rhythm, and intonation. Our project will help fill this gap.

Our approach, in contrast to previous ones, intends to explain the phonological form of an utterance through the interaction of metrical, rhythmic, and intonational factors that are based in various ways on language-specific as well as universal competencies of multilingual speakers. Our focus on these three areas of prosody in a language contact situation with Spanish has an analytical advantage, because in this way, differences in one of the areas that are caused by contact processes in another area can be observed and explained.

In the project's first phase (2015-2017), we recorded spoken Conchucos Quechua in the Ancash province in Peru, explored its prosody empirically, and described it theoretically.

For the second, currently running phase (2018-2021), we are expanding the project through our network of French, Chilean, and Mexican partners, who work in regions where other American indigenous languages as well as Spanish are spoken.

The resulting data from all of these projects is morphologically transcribed and annotated with metadata in English, Spanish, and Portuguese, and it will be made freely available in an online repository.

This project is led by Prof. Dr. Uli Reich and supported by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG project number 274614727).

 

Cooperations

Language Country Project headed by Collaborators

Coordination and repository

Germany

Uli Reich

Raúl Italo Bendezú Araujo, Timo Buchholz, Elizabeth Pankratz

Tepehuano

Mexico

Nadiezdha Torres

 

Otomí

Mexico

Alonso Guerrero Galván

Ewald Hekking, Aurelio Nuñez López, Lorena Gamper

Maya Yucateco

Mexico

to be determined

to be determined

Nheengatú

Brazil

Uli Reich

Antônio Lessa

Quechua de Conchucos

Peru

Uli Reich

Raúl Italo Bendezú Araujo, Timo Buchholz

Guaraní

Paraguay

Élodie Blestel

Hedy Penner, Uli Reich

Mapudungún

Chile

Magaly Ruiz

Aldo Olate, Jaqueline Caniguan

 

Type and structure of the recordings

The language data gathered in this project are recordings of elicitation experiments. In each experiment, the speakers are recorded while solving different communicative tasks in the form of a game. All bilingual speakers carry out each experiment twice, once in their local non-Romance variety and once in their local Romance variety. In none of these elicitation experiments, the utterances are productions of a scripted text. By selecting the materials (see "Metrical control for experiment materials" in Spanish or English), which are carefully adapted for each language and region with the indispensable help of local experts, as well as through the rules of the different games, we retain some control over the content of the conversation as a whole, but the content and form of each individual utterance are spontaneously chosen by the speakers. Together with our cooperation partners in the respective countries and regions, we have agreed on a core of common experiments. Partly, these are known from the literature, and all of them have been tested through our own experiences in Conchucos. They are to be carried out in all of the cooperating projects in order to achieve a very high degree of comparability. At the same time, here you will also find recordings of particular experiments that are carried out only in one or more specific regions, but not in all of them. This is due to the different specific research interests of the cooperation partners as well as local conditions.

General information and guidelines for a smooth execution of the recordings can be found here, in Spanish or English.

The individual experiments are briefly presented below. More detailed experiment descriptions (in Spanish and English) are given in the respective links.

Common Experiments

Imagenes (spa / eng): The speakers name objects that are shown to them on picture cards.

Memoria (spa / eng): The speakers play a version of the well-known game Memory, in which they have to identify and remember the positions of cards with certain images.

Maptask (spa / eng): The speakers conduct a conversation that simulates the giving and receiving of directions, but the maps they use do not match. The Maptask experiment was originally developed by Anderson et al. (1991), whose English-language corpus is located at the University of Edinburgh: http://groups.inf.ed.ac.uk/maptask/

Cuento (spa / eng): In an adapted version of the game Chinese Whispers, the speakers tell and retell a story invented by the researchers.

Quién (spa / eng): The speakers play a version of the game "Who am I?", in which one of them has to guess the identity of a person only the other knows about.

Particular Experiments

Cajas (spa / eng): The speakers try to guess the contents of several boxes without opening them. They discuss and negotiate until a consensus is reached on what is inside. (Conchucos)

Condir (spa / eng): An adapted version of a sociolinguistic interview with a monolingual speaker in which the interviewer contradicts what the speaker says. (Conchucos Quechua)

Available Corpora

The speech recordings produced as part of this research project are stored centrally in the online repository of the Freie Universität Berlin (Refubium), together with transcriptions and translations as well as metadata, and are thus freely accessible to the public as well as free for non-commercial use (Creative Commons License CC BY-NC-SA 4.0). You are very welcome to conduct your own linguistic research with our data and we would be pleased to hear from you also regarding any other feedback.

Each individual corpus is represented by 4 files in the repository:

1. The speech recording itself, usually the recording of a single experiment, in 16-bit PCM .wav format.

2. A file in .eaf format containing a transcription and morphological glosses aligned with the audio recording at the utterance level as well as a translation into Spanish and English (if the recording itself is in Spanish or Portuguese, no glosses are provided). The .eaf format belongs to the ELAN annotation programme, which was developed by the Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics and is freely available here: https://tla.mpi.nl/tools/tla-tools/elan/ There you can also find tutorials and guides on how to use the programme.

3. A file with the same information in .TextGrid format. The TextGrid format belongs to the Praat programme, which was developed by Paul Boersma and David Weenink at the University of Amsterdam and which is the most popular software for analyzing speech data in phonetics and phonology. Praat is also freely available at http://www.fon.hum.uva.nl/praat/ There you can also find tutorials and guides on how to use the programme.

4. A file in .pdf format with metadata on the recording, containing information on the experiment and the speaker.

In the following table you will find all already availabe published corpora. Their number will steadily increase as the project progresses. By clicking on the name of the corpus you will get directly to the corresponding page in the repository of the FU, where you can download the files for each experiment individually.

Corpus Region Researchers Experiment types included language(s)
Quechua 1 Conchucos, Peru

Bendezú Araujo, Raúl

Buchholz,Timo

Reich, Uli

common:

Memoria (7x)

Maptask (7x)

Cuento (7x)

Quién (4 x)

particular:

Cajas (4x)

Condir (1x)

Quechua

Recommendation for how to cite (using the example of Quechua 1):

Bendezú Araujo, Raúl, Timo Buchholz & Uli Reich. 2019. Corpora of American languages: Interactive language games from multilingual Latin America (Quechua 1). Berlin: Freie Universität. http://dx.doi.org/10.17169/refubium-25510

What's happening: News and publications

  • Octobre 28, 2019: The first part of the Conchucos data (Quechua 1) is now online in the Refubium and freely available for all
  • August-Octobre, 2019: Uli Reich was in Asunción (Paraguay) together with Élodie Blestel (Paris III), and in São Gabriel da Cachoeira (Brazil) with Antônio Lessa, to make recordings of Guaraní and Nheengatu for this project
  • Buchholz, Timo & Uli Reich. 2018. The realizational coefficient: Devising a method for empirically determining prominent positions in Conchucos Quechua. In Ingo Feldhausen, Jan Fliessbach & Maria d. M. Vanrell (eds.), Methods in prosody: A Romance language perspective (Studies in Laboratory Phonology 6), 123–164. Berlin: Language Science Press.

     (available here) (publication website)

  • Reich, Uli. 2018. Presupposed Modality. In Marco García García & Melanie Uth (eds.), Focus realization in Romance and beyond (Studies in language companion series Volume 201), 203–227. Amsterdam, Philadelphia: John Benjamins.

     (publication website)

Project staff

Timo BuchholzRaúl Italo Bendezu Araujo, Elizabeth Pankratz

The creation and publication of language corpora is time-consuming and requires many steps: the experiments have to be designed and tested and adapted with the help of local experts. Materials have to be selected and created. Care must be taken to produce technically clean recordings. Then follows the linguistic processing of the raw data: transcription, translation and morphological glossing, according to uniform and comprehensible criteria (as far as possible based on the Leipzig Glossing Rules). Finally, the data must be technically processed in such a way that they are suitable for online publication. All of this requires many different participants who all make their contribution. Our thanks go to everyone!

Contributors Conchucos Quechua and Spanish

Academic direction Technical direction Local cooperation (Huaraz and Huari) Transcription and translation Quechua (Huaraz) Glosses Quechua (Lima) Transcription and translation Spanish (Berlin)

Raúl Bendezú Araujo

Timo Buchholz

Uli Reich

Elizabeth Pankratz

Gabriel Barreto

Leonel Menacho Lopez

Yuli Alicia Cadillo Tarazona

Merlín de la Cruz Huayanay

Efraín Rodolfo Montes Palacios

Leidy Felyna Rosales Gonzales

Jeny Elvira Rosas Julca

Nelson Yonatan Sánchez Evaristo

Marco Antonio Trigoso Aching

Loreta Alva Mansilla

Claudia Arbaiza Varela

Minerva Lucero Cerna Maguiña

Freyda Nisbeth Schuler Tovar

Alonso Vásquez Aguilar

Magalí Bertola

Catalina Torres Orjuela

Resources

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Zweisprachige Prosodie: Metrik, Rhythmus und Intonation in mehrsprachigen Kontaktsituationen

 

(este página em português / en español)

 

Beschreibung des Projekts

Das Projekt verfolgt zwei wesentliche Ziele. Einerseits stellen wir akustische Daten amerikanischer Sprachen in einer Weise zur Verfügung, die es Linguist*innen weltweit ermöglichen soll, diese Sprachen in ihre Forschungsperspektiven zu integrieren. Damit wollen wir dazu beitragen, die typologische Basis der Theoriebildung zu erweitern. Gleichzeitig sollen die Sprachen und die von ihnen ausgedrückten Lebensformen durch ihre linguistische Profilierung in Zeiten ihrer extremen Bedrohung sichtbarer gemacht werden (http://gbs.uni-koeln.de/wordpress/).

Das zweite Ziel betrifft den Schwerpunkt unserer eigenen deskriptiven und theoretischen Arbeit. Wir wollen ein besseres Verständnis der Prosodie unter der Bedingung mehrsprachiger Kompetenz erreichen. Die phonologische Form einer Äußerung soll aus dem Zusammenspiel metrischer, rhythmischer und intonatorischer Regeln oder Beschränkungen erklärt werden, die auf unterschiedliche Weise von einzelsprachlichen und universalen Kompetenzen mehrsprachiger Sprecher bestimmt werden. Wir erreichen eine hohe Vergleichbarkeit der Daten, indem wir in allen Gemeinschaften die gleichen Aufnahmeverfahren durchführen, die typische konversationelle Züge zur Bearbeitung des Common Ground kontrolliert elizitieren. Dabei geben wir kommunikativen Spielen, in denen Kontext, diskursiver Verlauf und das lexikalische Material kontrolliert werden, den Vorrang vor sehr stark auf Satzebene kontrollierenden Verfahren wie die Elizitation von vollständig vorgegebenen Äußerungen oder Discourse Completion Tasks, da solche Experimente für die Sprecher*innen sehr ungewohnt sind und wir möglichst natürliche Sprachdaten erstellen wollen.

In der ersten Phase des Projekts (2015–2017) wurde die Prosodie des Quechua von Conchucos in der Provinz Ancash in Peru empirisch erfasst und theoretisch ausgeleuchtet. Für die zweite, aktuell laufende Projektphase (2018–2021) bauen wir auf die Vernetzung mit französischen, chilenischen und mexikanischen Partnern, die seit längerer Zeit über Sprachräume arbeiten, in denen das Spanische und das Portugiesische zusammen mit amerindischen Sprachen gesprochen werden.

Die entstehenden Daten aus allen Teilprojekten werden transkribiert, ins Spanische oder Portugiesische und ins Englische übersetzt, morphologisch glossiert und mit Metadaten auf Englisch, Spanisch und Portugiesisch versehen in einem Repositorium zur Verfügung gestellt.

Das Projekt wird von Prof. Dr. Uli Reich geleitet und durch die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft gefördert (DFG-Projektnummer 274614727).

 

Teilprojekte

Sprache Land Verantwortliche*r Kooperationspartner*innen

Koordination und Repositorium

Deutschland

Uli Reich (FU Berlin)

Raúl Italo Bendezú Araujo, Timo Buchholz, Elizabeth Pankratz (FU Berlin)

Tepehuano

Mexiko

Nadiezdha Torres (Colegio de México)

 

Otomí

Mexiko

Alonso Guerrero Galván (INAH)

Ewald Hekking (U de Querétaro), Aurelio Nuñez López, Lorena Gamper

Maya Yucateco

Mexiko

wird angekündigt

wird angekündigt

Nheengatú

Brasilien

Uli Reich

Antônio Lessa (FU Berlin)

Quechua de Conchucos

Peru

Uli Reich

Raúl Italo Bendezú Araujo, Timo Buchholz

Guaraní

Paraguay

Élodie Blestel (U Paris III)

Hedy Penner, Uli Reich

Mapudungún

Chile

Magaly Ruiz (U de la Frontera)

Aldo Olate, Jaqueline Caniguan

 

Art und Struktur der Aufnahmen

Bei den Sprachdaten, die im Rahmen dieses Projekts entstehen, handelt es sich um Aufnahmen von Elizitationsexperimenten. Bei jedem Experiment lösen die Sprecher*innen unterschiedliche kommunikative Aufgaben in Form eines Spiels, dabei werden sie aufgenommen. Alle zweisprachigen Sprecher*innen führen jedes Experiment zweimal durch, einmal in ihrer lokalen nichtromanischen und einmal in ihrer lokalen romanischen Varietät. Für alle diese Elizitationsexperimente gilt, dass die dabei entstehenden Äußerungen nicht gescriptet sind. Durch die Auswahl der Materialien (siehe "Metrische Kontrolle für die Experimentmaterialien" auf Spanisch oder Englisch), die für jede Sprache und jede Region sorgfältig und unter starker Einbeziehung lokaler Experten angepasst werden, sowie die Vorgaben durch die Spielregeln behalten wir eine gewisse inhaltliche Kontrolle des jeweiligen Gesprächs als Ganzem, aber Inhalt und Form jeder einzelnen Äußerung sind jeweils spontan von den Sprecher*innen gewählt. Zusammen mit den Kooperationspartner*innen in den jeweiligen Ländern und Regionen haben wir uns auf einen Kern an gemeinsamen Experimenten geeinigt. Diese sind teils aus der Literatur bekannt und allesamt durch unsere eigenen Erfahrungen in Conchucos erprobt. Sie sollen in allen beteiligten Ländern und Regionen durchgeführt werden, damit eine möglichst große Vergleichbarkeit entsteht. Gleichzeitig sind hier auch Aufnahmen von Experimenten zu finden, die partikular nur in einer oder mehreren bestimmten Regionen, aber nicht in allen, durchgeführt werden. Dies liegt an unterschiedlichen Forschungsinteressen der Kooperationspartner*innen und Gegebenheiten vor Ort.

Allgemeine Hinweise und Richtlinien für eine technisch reibungslose Durchführung der Aufnahmen finden Sie hier, auf Spanisch oder Englisch.

Im Folgenden werden die einzelnen Experimente kurz vorgestellt. Ausführlichere Experimentbeschreibungen (auf Spanisch und Englisch) sind verlinkt. 

Gemeinsame Experimente

Imagenes (spa / eng): Die Sprecher*innen benennen Objekte, die ihnen auf Bildkarten gezeigt werden.

Memoria (spa / eng): Die Sprecher*innen spielen eine Version des bekannten Spiels Memory, in dem sie die Positionen von Karten mit bestimmten Bildern identifizieren und sich merken müssen.

Maptask (spa / eng): Die Sprecher*innen führen ein Gespräch das eine Wegbeschreibung simuliert, aber die von ihnen verwendeten Karten stimmen nicht miteinander überein.Das Maptask-Experiment wurde ursprünglich von Anderson et al. (1991) entwickelt, deren englischsprachiges Korpus ist an der University of Edinburgh beheimatet und hier verfügbar: http://groups.inf.ed.ac.uk/maptask/

Cuento (spa / eng): In einer adaptierten Version des Spiels Stille Post erzählen die Sprecher*innen eine Geschichte, die von den Forscher*innen erfunden wurde.

Quién (spa / eng): Die Sprecher*innen spielen eine Version des Spiels "Wer bin ich?", in dem eine*r von ihnen die Identität einer Person erraten muss, die nur der/die andere kennt.

Partikulare Experimente

Cajas (spa / eng): Die Sprecher*innen versuchen, den Inhalt mehrerer Kartons zu erraten, ohne diese zu öffnen. Sie diskutieren und verhandeln, bis ein Konsens darüber erreicht wird, was sich darin befindet. (Conchucos)

Condir (spa / eng): Eine angepasste Version eines soziolinguistischen Interviews mit einem*r einsprachigen Sprecher*in, in der der Interviewer dem widerspricht, was der/die Sprecher*in sagt. (Conchucos Quechua) 

Verfügbare Corpora

Die im Rahmen dieses Forschungsprojekts entstandenen Sprachaufnahmen werden zusammen mit Transkriptionen und Übersetzungen sowie Metadaten im Repositorium der Freien Universität Berlin (Refubium) zentral gespeichert und sind so für die Öffentlichkeit frei zugänglich und nicht-kommerziell nutzbar (Creative Commons Lizenz CC BY-NC-SA 4.0). Sie können sehr gerne mit unseren Daten Ihre eigenen linguistischen Forschungen durchführen und wir freuen uns, wenn Sie uns davon berichten, ebenso wie über sonstiges Feedback.

Jedes Einzelcorpus ist im Repositorium durch 4 Dateien repräsentiert:

1. Die Sprachaufnahme selbst, in der Regel die Aufnahme eines einzelnen Experiments, im Format 16-bit PCM .wav.

2. Eine Datei im Format .eaf, die eine auf der Ebene der Äußerung zeitlich mit der Audioaufnahme alignierte Transkription und Glossierung sowie eine Übersetzung auf Spanisch und Englisch enthält (wenn die Aufnahme selbst auf Spanisch oder Portugiesisch ist, fällt die Glossierung weg). Das .eaf-Format gehört zum Annotationsprogramm ELAN, das vom Max-Planck-Institut für Psycholinguistik entwickelt wurde und hier frei erhältlich ist: https://tla.mpi.nl/tools/tla-tools/elan/

3. Eine Datei mit den gleichen Informationen im .TextGrid-Format. Das .TextGrid-Format gehört zum Programm Praat, das von Paul Boersma und David Weenink an der Universität Amsterdam entwickelt wurde und die gängigste Software zur Analyse von Sprachdaten in der Phonetik und Phonologie ist. Praat ist ebenfalls frei erhältlich: http://www.fon.hum.uva.nl/praat/

4. Eine Datei im Format .pdf mit Metadaten zu der Aufnahme, die Informationen zum Experiment und den Sprechenden enthält.

In der folgenden Tabelle finden Sie alle bisher schon veröffentlichten Corpora. Deren Anzahl wird sich im Fortlauf des Projekts stetig vergrößern. Durch einen Klick auf den Namen des Corpus gelangen sie direkt auf die entsprechende Seite im Repositorium der FU, wo sie die Dateien für jedes Experiment einzeln herunterladen können. 

Corpus Region Aufnehmende Enthaltene Experimenttypen Sprache(n)
Quechua 1 Conchucos, Peru

Bendezú Araujo, Raúl

Buchholz,Timo

Reich, Uli

Gemeinsam:

Memoria (7x)

Maptask (7x)

Cuento (7x)

Quién (4 x)

Partikular:

Cajas (4x)

Condir (1x)

Quechua

Zitierempfehlung (am Beispiel von Quechua 1):

Bendezú Araujo, Raúl, Timo Buchholz & Uli Reich. 2019. Corpora amerikanischer Sprachen: Interaktive Sprachspiele aus dem mehrsprachigen Lateinamerika (Quechua 1). Berlin: Freie Universität. https://refubium.fu-berlin.de/handle/fub188/25747

Aktuelles vom Projekt: Publikationen, Neuigkeiten

  • 28.10.2019: Der erste Teil der Conchucos-Daten (Quechua 1) ist im Refubium online und ab jetzt für alle frei zugänglich
  • August-Oktober 2019: Uli Reich war mit Élodie Blestel (Paris III) in Asunción (Paraguay) und mit Antônio Lessa in São Gabriel da Cachoeira (Brasilien) und hat Guaraní- und Nheengatu-Aufnahmen für dieses Projekt durchgeführt

 

Mitarbeiter*innen des Projekts

Timo BuchholzRaúl Italo Bendezu Araujo, Elizabeth Pankratz

Die Erstellung und Veröffentlichung von Sprachkorpora ist langwierig und verlangt viele Arbeitsschritte: Die Experimente müssen designt und erprobt und mit lokalen Experten angepasst werden. Materialien müssen erstellt werden. Die Aufnahmen müssen technisch sauber durchgeführt werden. Dann folgt die linguistische Aufbereitung: Transkription, Übersetzung und Glossierung, nach einheitlichen und nachvollziehbaren Kriterein (so weit wie möglich orientiert an den Leipzig Glossing Rules). Schliesslich müssen die Daten technisch so aufbereitet werden, dass sie für eine Onlineveröffentlichung tauglich sind. All das erfordert viele Beteiligte, die alle ihren Beitrag leisten. Unser Dank geht an alle!

Mitwirkende Quechua und Spanisch in Conchucos

Wissenschaftliche Leitung Technische Leitung Lokale Kooperation (Huaraz und Huari) Transkription und Übersetzung Quechua (Huaraz) Glossierung Quechua (Lima) Transkription und Übersetzung Spanisch (Berlin)

Raúl Bendezú Araujo

Timo Buchholz

Uli Reich

Elizabeth Pankratz

Gabriel Barreto

Leonel Menacho Lopez

Yuli Alicia Cadillo Tarazona

Merlín de la Cruz Huayanay

Efraín Rodolfo Montes Palacios

Leidy Felyna Rosales Gonzales

Jeny Elvira Rosas Julca

Nelson Yonatan Sánchez Evaristo

Marco Antonio Trigoso Aching

Loreta Alva Mansilla

Claudia Arbaiza Varela

Minerva Lucero Cerna Maguiña

Freyda Nisbeth Schuler Tovar

Alonso Vásquez Aguilar

Magalí Bertola

Catalina Torres Orjuela

 

Ressourcen