Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Teaching Project “The Digitization of Philology – The Corpus Coranicum Christianum”


The Berlin Byzantine Studies’ interdisciplinary teaching project “The Digitization of Philology – The Corpus Coranicum Christianum, under the direction of postdoctoral research fellow Manolis Ulbricht, was offered in the Winter semester of 2017/18 for the first time. The teaching project consists of two course components: A faculty seminar in which the foundations of philological work as well as the classical methods of print publication are taught, and a practical seminar in which basic technical knowledge for the compilation of a digital edition is conveyed.

The content of the teaching project is the translations of the Qur’an that originated in the Christian cultural sphere, which are understood as sources for the Christian reception of early Islam. In the faculty seminar the various translations into Byzantine, Syrian and Latin languages will be critically examined in a philological manner and traced back to their genesis in late antiquity. During the practical seminar the sources will be processed and made available for long term use within the context and framework of the Digital Humanities.

The teaching project is supported financially by the Presidium of the Freie Universität Berlin, as well as the Faculty of Philosophy and the Humanities. Additionally the Center for Digital Systems and the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities, specifically the project Corpus Coranicum (project management: Prof. Dr. Angelika Neuwirth) are in ongoing dialogues about the prospect of cooperation.

 

Students will learn and practice philological work as well as become better accustomed with the work of leveraging the digital humanities to digitally processing in the course of the teaching project “The Digitization of Philology - The Corpus Coranicum Christianum: using digitally processed handwritten sources (‘corpus) along with translations of the Qur’an (‘coranicum) originally written in the Christian cultural sphere (‘christianum) they will explore both philology and digitization. In the course of this self-directed process of learning students should become competent in preparing a interdisciplinary and globally usable database for the textual and cultural history of the reception of the Qur’an from the western perspective.

On the one hand, the project initiative for Corpus Coranicum Christianum (CCC) complements the Corpus Coranicum, a project conceived of at the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities and under the direction of Professor Angelika Neurith, whichfocuses on the Arabic materiality with regards to the revealed knowledge of the Qur’an. As such, the CCC expands this field of study by supplying the specialized knowledge concerning the Christian reading of the Qur’an. On the other hand, the CCC builds upon the dissertation of the applicant of the Coranus Graecus, along with the linked project for the “Compiling a digital edition of the Coranus Graecus, as well as on the efforts to systematically chart the Corpus Coranicum Byzantinum. The teaching project thus locates itself among the main research goals of the Berlin Byzantine studies and strives to offer perspectives for the advancement of budding academics.

 

The Byzantine studies teaching project “The Digitization of Philology - The Corpus Coranicum Christianum was officially honored by the President of the Freie Universität Berlin, Mr. Prof. Dr. Peter-André Alt, in a ceremony for the Central Teaching Prize 2016 on the 9th February 2017 (see press release Nr. 003/2017 from the 09.01.2017). The project proposal was entered as the Freie Universität of Berlin’s submission for the Teaching Award 2016 by the Berlin Byzantine Studies research fellow Manolis Ulbricht along with his students and (former) interns Nadine Arndt (editions sciences), Katharina Litke (Classical philology) and Johanna Schubert (Latin philology and social studies).

The Teaching Award of the Freie Universität of Berlin honors projects that attend to the integration of the results of excellent interdisciplinary research in university teaching. The goal of the prize is to express esteemed appreciation for outstanding commitment in research-oriented teaching. In this spirit, the Prize promotes the development of innovative teaching forms and formats that complement and help realize the central tenets of the Freie Univeristät Berlin's conceptions for the future in the field of teaching.

 

With these conceptions for the future in mind, Berlin Byzantine Studies actively pursue sustainable integration of research done as part of its professorship into the regular teaching operation offered to students. This research-oriented teaching, for example in the form of research internships already during a Bachelors or Masters degree, lets our students, as well as students from adjacent fields, become familiar with questions of current research projects in an interdisciplinary fashion. The aim of the Berlin Byzantine Studies is to introduce students at the best networked university in Germany to the methods of operation for future focused research as early as possible.

 


 

Further Links

Funding from the research commission for the Corpus Coranicum Christianum project Courses: “Foundational Philological Work” and “Methods for Digital Editions” (Winter Sem. 2017/18) Teaching project “The Digitization of Philology – the Corpus Coranicum Christianum, with application text (2016, in German) Research internships offered by Manolis Ulbricht Project description “Compiling a digital edition of the Coranus Graecus (in German)

 


 

Contact: Manolis Ulbricht

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Lehrprojekt „Digitalisierung der Philolologie – Das Corpus Coranicum Christianum“


Das interdisziplinär ausgerichtete Lehrprojekt „Digitalisierung der Philologie – Das Corpus Coranicum Christianum der Berliner Byzantinistik unter Leitung des Wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeiters Manolis Ulbricht wurde erstmals im Wintersemester 2017/18 angeboten. Es besteht aus zwei Lehrveranstaltungen: einem sogenannten Fachseminar, in welchem philologische Grundlagenarbeit sowie klassische Methoden der Printpublikationen gelehrt werden, sowie aus einem Praxisseminar, in dem technisches Basiswissen für die Erstellung einer digitalen Edition vermittelt wird.

Inhaltlich befasst sich das Lehrprojekt mit Koranübersetzungen aus dem christlichen Kulturraum, die als Rezeptionsquellen des frühen Islam verstanden werden. Die verschiedenen Übersetzungen in byzantinischer, syrischer und lateinischer Sprache werden anhand ausgewählter Quellen textkritisch bis zu ihren spätantiken Ursprüngen rückverfolgt (Fachseminar) und mithilfe der Digital Humanities langfristig für den wissenschaftlichen Diskurs bereitgestellt (Praxisseminar).

Das Lehrprojekt wird vom Präsidium der Freien Universität Berlin sowie dem Fachbereich Philosophie und Geisteswissenschaften finanziell unterstützt. Darüber hinaus bestehen Kooperationsgespräche mit dem Center für Digitale Systeme sowie der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, insbesondere dem Projekt Corpus Coranicum (Projektleitung: Prof. Dr. Angelika Neuwirth).

 

Die Studierenden werden im Rahmen des Lehrprojektes „Digitalisierung der Philologie – Das Corpus Coranicum Christianum exemplarisch anhand von Handschriftendigitalisaten (,corpus‘) mit Übersetzungen des Koran (,coranicum‘) aus dem christlichen Kulturraum (,christianum‘) philologische Grundlagenarbeit (,Philologie‘) erlernen und sich Möglichkeiten der digitalen Weiterverarbeitung klassischer Texte (,Digitalisierung‘) aneignen. So sollen die Studierenden in selbstgesteuerten Lernprozessen befähigt werden, eine interdisziplinär und global nutzbare Datenbank zur Text- und Kulturgeschichte der Koranrezeption aus westlicher Perspektive vorzubereiten.

Die Projektinitiative zum Corpus Coranicum Christianum (CCC) knüpft einerseits an das an der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften angesiedelte Corpus Coranicum von Professor Angelika Neuwirth an, welches sich auf die arabische Materialität hinsichtlich des koranischen Offenbarungswissens konzentriert; es erweitert dieses somit fachlich um die christlichen Koranlesarten. Andererseits baut das CCC auf der Dissertation des Antragstellers Coranus Graecus und der damit verbundenen „Erstellung einer digitalen Edition des Coranus Graecus sowie den Bemühungen zur systematischen Erfassung des Corpus Coranicum Byzantinum auf. Das Lehrprojekt reiht sich somit in die Forschungsschwerpunkte der Berliner Byzantinistik ein und möchte dabei Perspektiven einer etwaigen zukünftigen Förderung für junge Nachwuchswissenschaftler bieten.

 

Das byzantinistische Lehrprojekt „Digitalisierung der Philologie – Das Corpus Coranicum Christianum wurde am 09.02.2017 offiziell vom Präsidenten der Freien Universität Berlin Herrn Prof. Dr. Peter-André Alt im Rahmen der Preisverleihung des zentralen Lehrpreises 2016 gewürdigt (siehe Pressemitteilung Nr. 003/2017 vom 09.01.2017). Der Projektantrag wurde vom Wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeiter der Berliner Byzantinistik Manolis Ulbricht zusammen mit seinen Studierenden und (ehemaligen) Praktikantinnen Nadine Arndt (Editionswissenschaft), Katharina Litke (Klassische Philologie) und Johanna Schubert (Lateinische Philologie und Sozialkunde) als Bewerbung um den zentralen Lehrpreis 2016 der Freien Universität Berlin eingereicht.

Mit dem zentralen Lehrpreis der Freien Universität Berlin werden Projekte ausgezeichnet, die der Integration der Ergebnisse interdisziplinärer Spitzenforschung in die universitäre Lehre dienen. Ziel des Preises ist es, Wertschätzung für besonderes Engagement in der forschungsorientierten Lehre zum Ausdruck zu bringen. Dabei soll die Entwicklung von innovativen Lehrformen und -formaten gefördert werden, mit deren Hilfe die zentralen Anliegen des Zukunftskonzepts der Freien Universität Berlin auch im Bereich der Lehre umgesetzt werden.

 

Die Berliner Byzantinistik betreibt im Sinne dieses Zukunftskonzepts aktiv die nachhaltige Integration der an der Professur betriebenen Forschung in den ordentlichen Lehrbetrieb für die Studierenden. Durch diese Forschungsorientierte Lehre, etwa in Form von Forschungspraktika bereits im Bachelor- und Master-Studium, werden unsere Studierenden sowie Studierende der Nachbarfächer in interdisziplinärer Weise aktiv in Fragestellungen aktueller Forschungsprojekte einbezogen. Ziel der Berliner Byzantinistik ist es, die Studierenden an einer der stärksten Netzwerkuniversitäten Deutschlands möglichst frühzeitig an Methoden und Arbeitsweisen zukunftsorientierter Forschung heranzuführen.

 


 

Weiterführende Links

Antragstext für das Lehrprojekt „Digitalisierung der Philologie – Das Corpus Coranicum Christianum Lehrveranstaltungen „Philologische Grundlagenarbeit“ und „Digitale Editionsmethoden“ Forschungspraktika angeboten von Manolis Ulbricht Projektbeschreibung „Erstellung einer digitalen Edition des Coranus Graecus Projektskizze Corpus Coranicum Byzantinum Zusammenfassung der Dissertation „Coranus Graecus. Die älteste überlieferte Koranübersetzung in der «Ἀνατροπὴ τοῦ Κορανίου» des Niketas von Byzanz“

 


 

Ansprechpartner: Manolis Ulbricht