Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Coranus Graecus

The Oldest Transmitted Translation of the Qur’ān
within the «Ἀνατροπὴ τοῦ Κορανίου» of Nicetas of Byzantium

Introduction – Text – Translation – Commentary

Manolis ULBRICHT

 

The dissertation of Manolis Ulbricht (postdoctoral researcher) examines a Greek translation of the Qur’an from the 8th/9th century A.D. and compares it to the original Arabic text to analyze their differences in order to better understand the early relations between Christians and Muslims. This translation by an anonymous author, despite being generally very accurate, contains some textually subtle, albeit theologically important differences when viewed alongside today’s known Arabic text. These differences, taken from the oldest translation of the Qur’an, seem to be the result of a Christian hermeneutical reading of the text.

The translation has been transmitted through a polemical work authored by Nicetas of Byzantium (9thcentury A.D.), where it is included in a fragmented state. Nicetas lived in Constantinople, the imperial capital during a period defined by thriving military and intellectual activities, as well as a climate of intercultural exchange with the Muslim ʿAbbāsid caliphate. In his «Ἀνατροπὴ τοῦ Κορανίου» (“Refutation of the Qur’an”), which is transmitted only as a codex unicus (Vat. gr. 681), Nicetas quotes and paraphrases from the (now lost) Greek translation of the Qur’an in order to systemically prove the heresy of Islam.

In the dissertation, all the Qur’anic fragments are extracted from Nicetas’ polemical text, critically edited, translated and then compared with the Arabic text. This work of extracting the Qur’anic fragments makes it possible to then examine both text versions in a philological-theological commentary and to, according to the concept of Geistesgeschichte, historically arrange the research results.

Based on this analysis, it was not only possible to draw certain conclusions concerning the unknown translator and his understanding of the Qur’an, but also on the very history of the text. Furthermore, seeing as he was one of the most influential Christian polemicists against Islam, the dissertation also carefully and thoroughly works through Nicetas’ selective and manipulative use of the Greek translation in his “Refutation of the Qur’an.” Nicetas’ reception not only endured in the Byzantine sphere until the 13th century; his influence on the Western image of Islam is even comprehensible in Latin Europe up to the Modern Period.

This is an interdisciplinary research project which is related to Byzantine and Qur’anic studies, Christian and Muslim theology, as well as Greek and Arabic philology. For the first time, Nicetas of Byzantine and the translation of the Qur’an (8/9th A.D.), that he transmitted will be comprehensively studied, the material will be systematically edited, and then examined within the context of his time. Here, we are dealing with an early form of inter-religious dialogue; the critical and scientific treatment of this dialogue thus offers a platform for discussing ongoing questions in today’s society.

 

Parallel to the printed version of the edition (S. 187–558) the entire transcription of the Manuscript Vat. gr. 681 is being displayed following TEI-XML-Standards (p5- guideline) and is being made web-compatible through the use of xslt (xXTML – refer to Project Description for a Digital Edition of the Coranus Graecus). The website, which was created with CSS, is available as a Beta-Version and was first officially presented to the academic community on 14/07/2015.

 


 

Further Links

Master Thesis of Manolis Ulbricht “Fragments of a Greek Translation of the Qur’an from the Vat. gr. 681” Project Description Creation of a digital edition of “Coranus Graecus Teaching Project “Digitization of Philology – The Corpus Coranicum Christianum The Corpus Coranicum Christianum

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Coranus Graecus

Die älteste überlieferte Koranübersetzung in der «Ἀνατροπὴ τοῦ Κορανίου» des Niketas von Byzanz.

Einleitung - Text - Übersetzung - Kommentar

 

Die Dissertationsschrift von Manolis Ulbricht (promoviert) analysiert die griechische Koranübersetzung aus dem 8./ 9. Jahrhundert n. Chr., vergleicht sie mit dem arabischen Original und kommentiert die Unterschiede, um daraus Erkenntnisse über das frühe christlich-muslimische Verhältnis zu gewinnen. Die Übersetzung anonymer Autorschaft enthält, obgleich im allgemeinen sehr wortgetreu, einige textlich subtile, jedoch theologisch höchst relevante Modifikationen im Vergleich zum heutigen arabischen Korantext. Mit dieser wohl ältesten Koranübersetzung überhaupt scheint uns eine christliche Hermeneutisierung des Koran vorzuliegen.


Die Übersetzung ist in einem polemischen Werk des Niketas von Byzanz (9. Jh. n. Chr.) als codex unicus (Vat. gr. 681) fragmentarisch überliefert. Niketas lebte in der Reichshauptstadt Konstantinopel zu einer Zeit höchster militärischer und intellektueller Aktivität sowie in einem Klima interkulturellen Austauschs mit dem islamischen ʿAbbasidenkalifat. In seiner «Ἀνατροπὴ τοῦ Κορανίου» („Widerlegung des Koran“) zitiert und paraphrasiert Niketas aus der ihm wahrscheinlich vollständig und schriftlich vorliegenden, heute jedoch verlorenen griechischen Koranübersetzung, um darauf aufbauend den Islam als ,Irrlehre‘ zu erweisen.

In der Dissertationsschrift wurden alle Koranfragmente aus der Islam-Polemik des Niketas extrahiert, kritisch ediert, übersetzt und mit dem arabischen Text synoptisch gegenübergestellt, um dann die beiden Textversionen in einem philologisch-theologischen Kommentar zu untersuchen und die Forschungsergebnisse historisch-geistesgeschichtlich einzuordnen. Auf Grundlage dieser Analyse konnten Rückschlüsse auf den anonymen Übersetzer und sein Verständnis des Koran sowie auf dessen Textgeschichte gezogen werden. Darüber hinaus wird die selektive und manipulative Verwendung der Koranübersetzung durch Niketas von Byzanz in seiner „Widerlegung des Koran“ herausgearbeitet, da er einer der wirkungsmächtigsten Polemiker war: Niketas’ Rezeption reichte nicht nur im byzantinischen Raum bis in das 13. Jahrhundert, sondern auch im Lateinischen Europa ist sein Einfluss auf das westliche Bild vom Islam bis in die Neuzeit hinein fassbar.

Das Forschungsprojekt ist interdisziplinär angelegt und behandelt sowohl byzantinistische als auch koranwissenschaftliche Fragestellungen und Perspektiven christlicher sowie islamischer Theologie unter Verwendung griechischer und arabischer Philologie. Erstmals wird hier Niketas von Byzanz (9. Jh.) und die bei ihm überlieferte frühe Koranübersetzung (8./ 9. Jh.) umfassend untersucht, das Material systematisch aufbereitet und im Kontext seiner Zeit betrachtet. Wir haben es hier mit einer Frühform des interreligiösen Dialoges zu tun, dessen kritische und wissenschaftliche Aufarbeitung einen Beitrag für aktuelle Fragestellungen in unserer heutigen Gesellschaft leistet.

 

Parallel zur gedruckten Fassung der Edition (S. 187–558) wurde die gesamte Transkription des Manuskripts Vat. gr. 681 nach TEI-XML-Standards (p5-Richtlinien) ausgezeichnet und unter Anwendung von xslt statisch webfähig (xHTML) gemacht (siehe Projektbeschreibung zur Erstellung einer digitalen Edition des Coranus Graecus). Die mit CSS gelayoutete Website liegt als Beta-Version vor und wurde am 14.07.2015 erstmals und hochschulöffentlich präsentiert.

 


 

Weiterführende Links

Magisterarbeit von Manolis Ulbricht „Die Fragmente einer griechischen Koranübersetzung“ (Inhaltsverzeichnis) Zusammenfassung der Dissertation von Manolis Ulbricht „Coranus Graecus. Die älteste überlieferte Koranübersetzung in der «Ἀνατροπὴ τοῦ Κορανίου» des Niketas von Byzanz. Einleitung, Text, Übersetzung, Kommentar“ Projektbeschreibung Erstellung einer digitalen Edition des „Coranus Graecus Lehrprojekt „Digitalisierung der Philologie - Das Corpus Coranicum Christianum Das Corpus Coranicum Christianum