Structure & CP

The doctoral degree divides into the following four areas:



151 CP


Modules on Methodology and Literary Theory

(optional compulsory section)

15 CP


Practice  perspectives

(optional compulsory section)

8 CP


Research Colloquia


6 CP

Flexible work on the project


Research stay abroad

Literature as textual practice

Courses at DRS,





Research Colloquium

Literature from a transnational perspective

Research Colloquium

Literature and knowledge

Research Colloquium


Literature, (inter-)mediality and the arts

Work on the dissertation

All dissertation projects of the Graduate School - coming from different professional contexts - work on comparative questions. The diversity of the subjects involves a variety of methods, that is due to the literary studies traditions of the subjects, as well as the adaptation of the methods to the respective material. The structured dissertation program obliges the doctoral students to reflect on the learned methods and perspectives of their subject and to put them into relation to the methodical access of their fellow students.

There is no schoolification. The curriculum provides the largest possible room for the individual work on the dissertation (151 of 180 CP).

Research colloquia

The first-year Research Colloquium sensitizes the doctoral students to the methodical diversity of Literary Studies and assists them in sharpening their research problem. Based on the research subjects, which are neither restricted by regions nor time, the connection of methodical approaches and the literary theory background is cleared in the joint discussion.

The interdisciplinary Research Colloquia take place in the winter semester and are mandatory. They are supervised by experienced professors and support the dissertation projects' opening towards an interdisciplinary perspective. Alongside PostDocs and international guests, the supervision teams participate in the presentation sessions.


Transdisciplinary doctoral seminars on methodology and literary theory (6 CP) are offered continuously by professors (W1, W2) associated with FSGS, can be chosen freely by the students across the doctoral years and place thematic emphases that are defined by the research areas of FSGS, thereby providing orientation. In total, three seminars have to be taken with one being offered at FSGS. The seminars taken at FSGS or other universities need to cover three of the Research Areas of FSGS. Recognition of seminars taken outside of FSGS (form on recognition) is conducted by the School's management.

Workshops on practice perspectives - Transferable Skills

One of the new demands on academic education is the inclusion of activities within a narrow period of time that used to be reserved for later qualification or employment stages before. Accordingly, a professional and job-related support and career advice (8 CP) supplement the curriculum:

Teaching experience - be it independent or joint teaching with experienced researchers - (5 CP), organization of academic events, publication of conference reports, book reviews or academic articles serve the doctoral students' qualification in teaching and researching (51% of the graduates) or science management (16%). Besides, events on potential occupational areas such as journalism, publishing, the cultural sector or consulting (33%) are offered. The Graduate School's alumni network is of particular value: Alumni report on and discuss internships, stays abroad, networks and career-related topics in the Noon Forum or Summer Café [German only].

The umbrella organization Dahlem Research School (DRS) offers a wide range of workshops on key skills (time management, conflict resolution, presenting, rhetoric skills, disputation training), supplemented by high-quality mentoring offerings (0.5 CP per workshop day).

Struktur & LP

Das Promotionsstudium gliedert sich in die folgenden vier Bereiche:

I.

Arbeit an der
eigenen Dissertation

151 LP

II.

Module zur Methodologie und Literaturtheorie

(Wahlpflicht-Bereich)

15 LP

III.

Praxis-perspektiven

(Wahlpflicht-bereich)

8 LP

IV.

Forschungs-kolloquien

(obligatorisch)

6 LP

Flexible Arbeit am eigenen Projekt

inklusive Auslands-aufenthalte

Literatur als Textpraxis

Kurse der DRS,

der FSGS &

eigene Lehre

Jahrgangs-colloquium

Literatur in transnationaler Perspektive

Jahrgangs-colloquium

Literatur und Wissen

Jahrgangs-colloquium

Theorien der Künste, der Medialität und Intermedialität

 

Arbeit an der Dissertation

Alle Forschungsprojekte der Graduiertenschule bearbeiten – in unterschiedlichen Fachkontexten – komparatistische Fragestellungen. Die Diversität der Gegenstände geht mit einer Methodenvielfalt einher, die den wissenschaftlichen Traditionen der Fächer geschuldet ist, wie auch der Anpassung der Methoden an das jeweilige Material. Im strukturierten Promotionsprogramm reflektieren die DoktorandInnen die erlernten Methoden und Perspektiven des eigenen Faches und setzen sie zu den methodischen Zugängen der KommilitonInnen in Beziehung.

Das Curriculum gibt der individuellen Bearbeitung der Dissertation größtmöglichen Raum (151 von 180 LP).

Forschungscolloquien

Das erste Jahrgangscolloquium sensibilisiert die Promovenden für die methodische Vielfalt der Literaturwissenschaften und hilft ihnen, ihre Fragestellung komparatistisch zuzuspitzen. Ausgehend von Untersuchungsgegenständen, die weder regionalen noch zeitlichen Beschränkungen unterworfen sind, klärt sich in der gemeinsamen Diskussion der Zusammenhang von methodischen Zugriffen und literaturtheoretischem Hintergrund.

Die drei interdisziplinären Jahrgangscolloquien (Wintersemester) sind Pflichtveranstaltungen (6 LP), werden von erfahrenen ProfessorInnen geleitet und garantieren die Öffnung der Projekte auf eine fächerübergreifende Perspektive. Neben PostDocs und internationalen Gästen nehmen an den Präsentationssitzungen die Betreuungsteams teil.

Seminare

Transdisziplinäre Doktorandenseminare zur Methodologie und Literaturtheorie (15 LP) werden von den der FSGS zugehörigen ProfessorInnen (W1, W2) fortlaufend angeboten, sind frei wählbar und setzen jahrgangsübergreifend thematische Schwerpunkte, die über die Arbeitsgebiete der FSGS definiert sind und Orientierung bieten. Es müssen insgesamt drei Seminare belegt werden, davon eines der in der FSGS angebotenen Seminare. Die an der FSGS oder an anderen Hochschulen belegten Seminare sollen drei der Arbeitsgebiete der FSGS abdecken. Für die Anerkennung der außerhalb der FSGS belegten Seminare (Teilnahmebescheinigung) ist die Geschäftsführung zuständig.

Workshops zu Praxisperspektiven - Transferable Skills

Zu den neuen Anforderungen an akademische Bildungswege gehört, dass in einem knappen Zeitraum Aktivitäten entfaltet werden, die zuvor späteren Qualifikationsphasen oder Stationen im Beruf vorbehalten waren. Entsprechend ergänzt eine professionelle berufsspezifische Förderung und Karriereberatung (8 LP) das Curriculum:

Lehrerfahrung – sei es eigenständiges oder gemeinsames Unterrichten mit erfahrenen WissenschaftlerInnen – (5 LP), Organisation wissenschaftlicher Veranstaltungen, Publizieren von Konferenzberichten, Literaturkritiken oder wissenschaftlichen Aufsätzen dienen der Qualifikation in Lehre und Forschung (51 % der AbsolventInnen) oder auch für das Wissenschaftsmanagement (16 %). Hinzu kommen Veranstaltungen zu potentiellen Berufsfeldern wie Journalismus, Verlagswesen, Kulturbereich oder Unternehmensberatung (33%). Besonders wertvoll ist das Alumni-Netzwerk der Graduiertenschule: Alumni berichten im Mittagsforum oder diskutieren im Sommer-Café über Praktika, Auslandsaufenthalte, Netzwerke und Karriere.

Die Dachorganisation Dahlem Research School (DRS) bietet ein vielfältiges Angebot an Workshops zu Schlüsselqualifikationen (Zeitmanagement, Konfliktlösung, Präsentieren, Sprachkompetenzen, Disputationstraining), ergänzt durch hochwertige Mentoring-Angebote (0,5 LP pro Workshoptag).

Zur Website Fachbereich Philosophie und Geisteswissenschaften
GeschKultLogo
Dahlem Research School
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft