Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Study abroad at University of Tokyo

FSGS has, together with the Graduate School of East Asian Studies (GEAS), an exchange agreement with the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences / The College of Arts and Sciences and the Graduate School of Humanities and Sociology / Faculty of Letters at University of Tokyo. Each year 5 positions are available.

Due to living and rental costs, the stay in Tokyo is relatively expensive. Information about scholarships for students with knowledge of Japanese as well as for students regardless of their knowledge of Japanese (EPINEL program) can be found on the direct exchange website of FU Berlin. Should you receive one of these scholarships, please inform the office at FSGS.

Would you like to spend one or two semesters abroad at University of Tokyo? Then:
  • inform our office about the duration of your planned visit.
  • put together an application (English) that contains the following: letter of motivation, outline of the dissertation project, CV. Send your application via email (PDF) to our office.
  • ask your supervisor team for a short vote regarding your visit abroad via email to our office.
  • check the VISA requirements for Japan. Make sure you have a valid passport for your planned visit. Send a copy of the first two pages of your passport via email (PDF) to our office. You will receive an invitational letter from University of Tokyo through our office that you will need in order to apply for the visa.
  • inquire with your health insurance whether you will be insured during your stay in Japan.
  • find out about accommodation options near University of Tokyo.
Support for planning and realizing your visit abroad can be found through the DAAD Regional Office in Tokyo.

Since 2015, the FSGS has an Einstein Visiting Fellow from University of Tokyo who is in Berlin on a regular basis. We would be happy to get you in touch so that you can make the most of your visit abroad.

 

Department of Philosophy and Humanities
GeschKultLogoEngl
Dahlem Research School
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
logo einstein grau

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Auslandsaufenthalt an der University of Tokyo

Die FSGS hat gemeinsam mit der Graduate School of East Asian Studies (GEAS) einen Austauschvertrag mit der Graduate School of Arts and Sciences / The College of Arts and Sciences und der Graduate School of Humanities and Sociology / Faculty of Letters der University of Tokyo. Es stehen insgesamt 5 Plätze jährlich zur Verfügung.

Der Aufenthalt in Tokyo ist durch die Unterbringungs- und Lebenshaltungskosten relativ teuer. Informationen über Stipendien für Studierende mit Japanischkenntnissen und für Studierende unabhängig von japanischen Sprachkenntnissen (EPINEL-Programm) finden Sie auf der Direktaustausch-Webseite der FU Berlin. Sollten Sie eines dieser Stipendien erhalten, informieren Sie bitte die Geschäftsstelle der FSGS.

Möchten Sie ein oder zwei Auslandssemester an der University of Tokyo verbringen? Dann:
  • Informieren Sie die Geschäftsstelle über den geplanten Zeitraum Ihres Auslandsaufenthaltes.
  • Stellen Sie Bewerbungsunterlagen (englisch) zusammen, die folgendes enthalten: Motivationsschreiben, Skizze des Promotionsvorhabens, CV. Schicken Sie die Bewerbung per E-Mail (ein PDF) an die Geschäftsstelle.
  • Bitten Sie Ihr Betreuungsteam um ein kurzes Votum zum Auslandsaufenthalt per E-Mail an die Geschäftsstelle.
  • Prüfen Sie die VISA-Bedingungen für Japan. Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie einen für den geplanten Aufenthalt gültigen Reisepass besitzen. Senden Sie eine Kopie der ersten beiden Seiten des Reisepasses per E-Mail (PDF) an die Geschäftsstelle. Sie erhalten über die Geschäftsstelle ein Einladungsschreiben der University of Tokyo, das Sie für die Beantragung des Visums brauchen.
  • Erkundigen Sie sich bei Ihrer Krankenkasse, ob Sie während eines Aufenthaltes in Japan versichert sind.
  • Informieren Sie sich über die Unterbringungsmöglichkeiten in der Nähe der University of Tokyo.
Viele Informationen und auch Unterstützung bei der Vorbereitung und Durchführung Ihres Auslandsaufenthaltes bietet Ihnen die DAAD Außenstelle in Tokyo.

Die FSGS hat seit 2015 einen Einstein Visiting Fellow von der University of Tokyo, der regelmäßig in Berlin ist. Gerne können wir für Sie den Kontakt herstellen, damit Sie Ihren Aufenthalt so gewinnbringend wie möglich gestalten können.

Zur Website Fachbereich Philosophie und Geisteswissenschaften
GeschKultLogo
Dahlem Research School
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
logo einstein grau