Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Study abroad at University of Chicago

FSGS has an exchange agreement with the Department of Germanic Studies and the Department of Comparative Literature at University of Chicago. Each year two positions are available. The visit takes place in the spring, and it is relatively expensive due to travel and lodging costs. However, everyone who has taken advantage of this visit has given very positive feedback. Get in touch with our office and we will send you the report collection (PDF).

Would you like to spend the spring of the following year at University of Chicago? Then:
  • inform our office by April 30.
  • put together an application (German / English) that contains the following: letter of motivation, outline of the dissertation project, CV. Send your application via email (PDF) to our office.
  • ask your supervisor team for a short vote regarding your visit abroad via email to our office.
  • check the VISA requirements for the USA. Make sure you have a valid passport for your planned visit. Send a copy of the first two pages of your passport via email (PDF) to our office by September 30 at the latest. At the end of the year you’ll receive an invitational letter from University of Chicago through our office that you will need in order to apply for the visa.
  • inquire with your health insurance whether you will be insured during your stay in the USA. The department in Chicago will insure you free of charge, but the benefits aren’t comprehensive. You can find many tips about this in our internal experience report. 
  • find out about accommodation options near University of Chicago. For this, too, the report collection will have many helpful tips.
Department of Philosophy and Humanities
GeschKultLogoEngl
Dahlem Research School
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
logo einstein grau

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Auslandsaufenthalt an der University of Chicago

Die FSGS hat einen Austauschvertrag mit dem Department of Germanic Studies und dem Department of Comparative Literature der University of Chicago. Es stehen jährlich zwei Plätze zur Verfügung. Der Aufenthalt findet im Frühjahr statt und ist durch die Reise- und Aufenthaltskosten relativ teuer. Es gibt aber sehr positive Rückmeldungen derjenigen, die diesen Aufenthalt durchgeführt haben. Fragen Sie bei der Geschäftsstelle nach, wir schicken Ihnen den internen Erfahrungsbericht (PDF).

Möchten Sie im Frühjahr des darauffolgenden Jahres Ihren Auslandsaufenthalt an der University of Chicago verbringen? Dann:
  • Informieren Sie die Geschäftsstelle bis zum 30. April.
  • Stellen Sie Bewerbungsunterlagen (deutsch / englisch) zusammen, die folgendes enthalten: Motivationsschreiben, Skizze des Promotionsvorhabens, CV. Schicken Sie die Bewerbung per E-Mail (ein PDF) an die Geschäftsstelle.
  • Bitten Sie Ihr Betreuungsteam um ein kurzes Votum zum Auslandsaufenthalt per E-Mail an die Geschäftsstelle.
  • Prüfen Sie die VISA-Bedingungen für die USA. Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie einen für den geplanten Aufenthalt gültigen Reisepass besitzen. Senden Sie bis spätestens 30. September eine Kopie der ersten beiden Seiten des Reisepasses per Email (PDF) an die Geschäftsstelle. Ende des Jahres erhalten Sie über die Geschäftsstelle ein Einladungsschreiben der University of Chicago, das Sie für die Beantragung des Visums brauchen.
  • Erkundigen Sie sich bei Ihrer Krankenkasse, ob Sie während eines Aufenthaltes in den USA versichert sind. Das Department in Chicago versichert Sie kostenfrei, aber die Leistungen sind nicht allumfassend. Viele Hinweise dazu finden Sie in unserem internen Erfahrungspapier. 
  • Informieren Sie sich über die Unterbringungsmöglichkeiten in der Nähe der University of Chicago. Auch dazu gibt Ihnen der interne Erfahrungsbericht viele Tipps.
Zur Website Fachbereich Philosophie und Geisteswissenschaften
GeschKultLogo
Dahlem Research School
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
logo einstein grau