Workshop series for project scholars

The workshop series specifically developed for the funding model “project scholarships” aims to provide concrete support and assistance on the path to the dissertation, and to prepare the project scholars for the fellowship application process with Funding institutions. The workshop series provides specific information about funding possibilities in Germany as well as coaching, presentation training, and forums to critically discuss one’s exposé in the various stages of its development.

Further, FSGS invites the project scholars to participate in all of the Graduate School’s events and parties to meet and network with other members, visiting scholars, associated postdocs, and alumni of the school.

 

June

Welcome and introductory event

In June, FSGS welcomes the new project scholars. They have a chance to meet each other, and it gives the Graduate School the opportunity to introduce itself and explain the upcoming program.

Exposé writing workshop part 1

The two-part exposé writing workshop aims to prepare the project scholars for the application process with Funding institutions, and to formulate the exposé in an appropriate way. The first part addresses the content of a successful exposé, how to develop a central question, and how to frame a research project’s hypotheses or goals.

July

WorldCafé

The WorldCafé on the topic of “Paths to the dissertation. Which foundation is a good fit for me?“ is a public networking event to which anyone interested in doctoral studies is invited. The goal of this innovative event model is to provide an overview of the various funding programs offered by German foundations, and to start the dialog between doctoral students and foundation representatives.

Summer party

FSGS cordially invites all colleagues and friends of FSGS to the annual summer party.

August

Exposé writing workshop part 2

The second part of the exposé writing workshop serves to reflect on the exposé’s development. Further, any foundation-specific knowledge gained at the WorldCafé should be incorporated in the application, and any remaining questions discussed.

Kick-off meeting: writing group

The writing workshop should develop into a self-organized writing group that meets on a regular basis in order to help each other with the writing process.

September

Colloquium day

On colloquium day, the project scholars discuss their now formulated research ideas in an interdisciplinary setting with their fellow students and supervisors.

October / Beginning of the winter semester at FSGS

Presentations workshop

During the presentations workshop, project scholars are given concrete tools to present their dissertation project clearly, succinctly, and rhetorically founded for selection interviews.

Colloquium

The project scholars participate in the 1st year’s colloquium and discuss their research project in an interdisciplinary context. This 1st year’s colloquium takes place weekly during the winter semester 2018/19, Tuesdays from 2:00–4:00 pm (in room JK 33/121) and is led by Ms Jutta Müller-Tamm.

Lunch Forum

The project scholars introduce themselves to FSGS members in the Lunch Forum.

November

Annual meeting

All colleagues and friends of FSGS are cordially invited to our annual meeting.

December

Christmas party

February

End of semester

At the end of the scholarship period, the project scholars write final reports and reflect on their time at FSGS. Those who have successfully secured external funding for their dissertation receive a Ph.D. position at the Graduate School at the beginning of the following winter semester.

You can find the current dates of the workshop series in our calendar.
Department of Philosophy and Humanities
GeschKultLogoEngl
Dahlem Research School
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
logo einstein grau

Workshopreihe für ProjektstipendiatInnen

Die eigens für das Förderformat „Projektstipendien“ konzipierte Workshopreihe zielt darauf ab, konkrete Hilfestellungen für den Weg in die Promotion zu geben und die ProjektstipendiatInnen bestmöglich auf den Bewerbungsprozess bei Stiftungen vorzubereiten. Die Workshopreihe bietet neben gezielten Informationen zu Fördermöglichkeiten in Deutschland auch Coachings, Präsentationstrainings sowie Foren zur kritischen Diskussion des eigenen Exposés in den verschiedenen Stadien seiner Entstehung.

Die FSGS lädt die ProjektstipendiatInnen weiterhin ein, an allen Veranstaltungen und Festen der Graduiertenschule teilzunehmen, um die anderen Mitglieder, GastwissenschaftlerInnen, assoziierte PostDocs und Alumni der Schule kennenzulernen und sich zu vernetzen.

Juni

Begrüßung und Einführungsveranstaltung

Im Juni heißt die FSGS die neuen ProjektstipendiatInnen herzlich willkommen. Die ProjektstipendiatInnen lernen sich bei dieser Gelegenheit kennen, zudem stellt sich die Graduiertenschule vor und erläutert das anstehende Programm.

Exposé-Schreibwerkstatt Teil 1

Die zweiteilige Exposé-Schreibwerkstatt zielt darauf ab, die ProjektstipendiatInnen auf den Bewerbungsprozess bei einer Stiftung vorzubereiten und das Exposé zielgerichtet zu formulieren. Der erste Teil widmet sich der Frage, worauf es inhaltlich in einem erfolgreichen Exposé ankommt, wie man eine zentrale Fragestellung entwickelt sowie Hypothesen oder Ziele eines Forschungsprojekts formuliert.

Juli

WorldCafé

Das WorldCafé zum Thema „Wege in die Promotion. Welche Stiftung passt zu mir?“ ist eine öffentliche Netzwerkveranstaltung, zu der alle Promotionsinteressierten eingeladen sind. Ziel dieses innovativen Veranstaltungsmodells ist es, einen Überblick über die Förderprogramme deutscher Stiftungen zu erhalten und einen Dialog zwischen Promotionsinteressierten und StiftungsvertreterInnen zu öffnen.

Einen Rückblick auf die vergangenen WorldCafés finden Sie hier.

Sommerfest

Zum jährlichen Sommerfest lädt die FSGS alle KollegInnen und FreundInnen der FSGS herzlich ein.

August

Exposé-Schreibwerkstatt Teil 2

Im zweiten Teil der Exposé-Schreibwerkstatt wird die Entwicklung der Exposés reflektiert. Zudem sollen die stiftungsspezifischen Erkenntnisse aus dem WorldCafé in die Bewerbungen eingebracht und verbleibende Fragen erörtert werden.

Kick-off-Meeting: Schreibgruppe

Aus der Schreibwerkstatt soll eine selbstorganisierte Schreibgruppe entstehen, die sich in regelmäßigen Abständen trifft, um sich gegenseitig beim Schreibprozess zu unterstützen.

September

Colloquiumstag

Am Colloquiumstag diskutieren die ProjektstipendiatInnen ihre mittlerweile ausformulierten Forschungsideen in einem interdisziplinären Setting mit KommilitonInnen und BetreuerInnen.

Oktober / Beginn des Wintersemesters an der FSGS

Präsentationsworkshop

Während des Präsentationsworkshops (Teil 1 & 2) erhalten die ProjektstipendiatInnen konkrete Instrumente an die Hand, um ihr Promotionsprojekt bei Auswahlgesprächen klar, konkret und rhetorisch fundiert vorstellen zu können.

Colloquium

Die ProjektstipendiatInnen nehmen am Colloquium des 1. Jahrgangs teil und diskutieren ihr Forschungsprojekt somit in einem interdisziplinären Kontext. Dieses 1. Jahrgangscolloquium findet im Wintersemester 2018/19 wöchentlich, dienstags von 14:00–16:00 Uhr (in Raum JK 33/121) statt und wird von Prof. Jutta Müller-Tamm geleitet.

Mittagsforum

Die ProjektstipendiatInnen stellen sich den FSGS-Mitgliedern im Mittagsforum vor.

November

Jahrestagung

Zur Jahrestagung lädt die FSGS alle KollegInnen und FreundInnen der FSGS herzlich ein.

Dezember

Weihnachtsfeier

Februar

Semesterabschluss

Zum Ende der Förderlaufzeit verfassen die ProjektstipendiatInnen Abschlussberichte und reflektieren ihre Zeit an der FSGS. Wer erfolgreich eine externe Promotionsfinanzierung eingeworben hat, erhält ab dem Wintersemester einen Promotionsplatz in der Graduiertenschule.

Zur Website Fachbereich Philosophie und Geisteswissenschaften
GeschKultLogo
Dahlem Research School
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
logo einstein grau