Curriculum

Doctoral studies at Friedrich Schlegel Graduate School

Being part of a structured doctoral program means you are part of an interdisciplinary network and are closely mentored. The Graduate School’s structure allows for visits abroad that are integrated into the study schedule, you may organize workshops and invite guest lecturers, and you can participate in training workshops for transferable skills, or make use of career-specific mentoring.

The purpose of a structured doctoral program is to support its dissertations as effectively as possible. This “structure” includes various aspects:
  • a supervisor team of at least two PIs at FSGS, who will supervise the project (interdisciplinary) together.
  • an annual assessment of the progress and further project development in a team meeting with the supervisor team in June, and a work report in July.
  • the presentation of your own project in the colloquium in the presence of the supervisor team each winter semester.
  • various seminars, workshops, and consultations through the school’s faculty and visiting international scholars.
  • training and mentoring opportunities through Dahlem Research School (DRS) at Freie Universität Berlin, Humboldt Graduate School at Humboldt Universität zu Berlin, and FSGS. These are in cooperation with the MA degree course “Applied Literary Studies“ for “Transferable Skills,“ and exploration of career options.
  • support for conducting your own teaching events, insofar as the relevant institutes can facilitate this.
  • support for visits abroad.
  • support for organizing your own events and inviting guest speakers.

First statistics prove that those who participate in structured doctoral program do not take longer for their dissertation than those choosing the traditional path of an individual dissertation – quite the contrary. In many cases, the dissertation can be completed successfully after three and a half years. The interdisciplinary input and opportunities for discussion impart the necessary self-confidence to finish the project quickly. Practice-oriented workshops help clarify future perspectives, and examples of predecessors alleviate the fear of starting a career.

Being part of a structured doctoral program also includes that you have obligations and need to earn credits. Our structure overview of the doctoral studies program shows you how many credits you need to earn in the different areas (writing the dissertation, seminars, transferable skills workshops, colloquia). A transfer of credits from one area to another is not possible.

The individual development of the dissertation is by far the most comprehensive area. The dissertation in literary studies at FSGS is and remains a qualifying work with which you prove that you can work independently and scientifically responsible.

A residence obligation applies while writing your dissertation, i.e. you have to live in Berlin in order to guarantee consistent guidance through your supervisor team.

Seminars about methodology and literary theory are usually offered by FSGS faculty and take place every semester. You will have to attend at least one of these seminars. Seminars you attend at institutes of the FU or the HU are accepted, as well as seminars you attend during your visit abroad at your guest university. Crucial for their acceptance are the number of semester hours, regular attendance, and the thematical focus (literary theory and methodology). Please fill out the confirmation of attendance form in advance and have it signed by the respective professor. After submitting these forms, the administrative office will take care of the acceptance. This can happen at any point, even after the dissertation has been submitted.

For transferable skills you may use the various workshops offered at Dahlem Research School as well as Humboldt Graduate School. Each workshop day counts for 0.5 credits. Please make sure to keep your own list of workshops attended, and indicate these in your yearly work report. Classes you teach (5 credits) or events you organize will also be credited to the area of transferable skills. For the latter, please make an appointment with our office.

Colloquia at FSGS are mandatory and may not be substituted by other events. They are offered during the winter semesters and lead by FSGS faculty. The members of your supervisor team are invited to the session during which you present your own work.

The exemplary course of studies plan can help you plan your doctorate, but it is not compulsory. We are more than happy to advise you on how to plan your doctoral studies in a way that is optimal for your dissertation and career planning.

Here is some information about the doctoral studies program at FSGS:
More information regarding transferable skills can be found here:
Department of Philosophy and Humanities
GeschKultLogoEngl
Dahlem Research School
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

Curriculum

Promotionsstudiengang der Friedrich Schlegel Graduiertenschule

Strukturiert promovieren bedeutet, dass Sie in ein interdisziplinäres Netzwerk eingebunden sind, ein Curriculum durchlaufen und engmaschig betreut werden. Durch die Struktur der Graduiertenschule werden in den Studienverlaufsplan integrierte Auslandsaufenthalte möglich, zudem können Sie eigene Workshops & Gasteinladungen oder Lehrveranstaltungen durchführen sowie Trainingworkshops zu Transferable Skills oder eines berufsspezifischen Mentorings in Anspruch nehmen.

Ziel eines strukturierten Promotionsprogrammes ist, die unter seinem Dach durchgeführten Promotionen so effektiv wie möglich zu unterstützen. Zur „Struktur“ gehören verschiedene Aspekte:
  • Ein Betreuungsteam von mindestens zwei HochschullehrerInnen der FSGS, die das Projekt (interdisziplinär) gemeinsam begleiten.
  • Eine jährliche Bestandsaufnahme zu Fortschritten und zum weiteren Verlauf des Projektes in einer Teamsitzung mit dem Betreuungsteam im Juni und einem Arbeitsbericht im Juli.
  • Die Präsentation des eigenen Projektes im Colloquium im Beisein des Betreuungsteams in jedem Wintersemester.
  • Seminar-, Workshop- und Beratungsangebote durch die der Schule zugeordneten ProfessorInnen und internationalen GastwissenschaftlerInnen.
  • Trainings- und Mentoringangebote der Dahlem Research School (DRS) der Freien Universität Berlin, der Humboldt Graduate School der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und der FSGS in Kooperation mit dem Studiengang „Angewandte Literaturwissenschaft“ zu „Transferable Skills“ und Berufsfelderkundungen.
  • Unterstützung bei der Durchführung eigener Lehrveranstaltungen, soweit das die zuständigen Institute ermöglichen können.
  • Unterstützung bei der Durchführung von Auslandsaufenthalten.
  • Unterstützung bei der Durchführung von eigenen Veranstaltungen und Gasteinladungen.

Erste Statistiken bestätigen: Diejenigen, die strukturiert promovieren, brauchen für ihre Promotion nicht länger als diejenigen, die den klassischen Weg einer Individualpromotion wählen. Im Gegenteil. Oft kann die Promotion nach dreieinhalb Jahren erfolgreich abgeschlossen werden. Der interdisziplinäre Input und die Austauschmöglichkeiten verleihen das notwendige Selbstbewusstsein, um die Arbeit zügig fertigzustellen. Praxisorientierte Workshops klären die Zukunftsperspektive und die Beispiele der VorgängerInnen nehmen die Angst vor dem Berufseinstieg.

Strukturiert promovieren bedeutet nicht zuletzt, dass Sie Verpflichtungen haben und Leistungspunkte erwerben müssen. Unser Überblick über die Struktur des Promotionsstudienganges zeigt Ihnen, wie viele Leistungspunkte Sie in den einzelnen Bereichen (Schreiben der Promotion, Seminare, Workshops zu Transferable Skills, Colloquien) erwerben müssen. Eine Übertragung von LP von einem Bereich auf den anderen ist nicht möglich.

Der Bereich zur individuellen Erarbeitung der Dissertation ist der mit Abstand umfangreichste Bereich. Im Zentrum des Promotionsstudiengangs steht die wissenschaftliche Qualifikationsarbeit, in der Sie nachweisen, dass Sie eigenständig und verantwortlich wissenschaftlich arbeiten können. Eine negativ verstandene ‚Verschulung‘ der Promotionsphase ist nicht im Sinne der FSGS.

Während des Schreibens der Arbeit gilt Residenzpflicht, d. h. Sie müssen in Berlin wohnen. Nur so kann die Betreuung durch das Betreuungsteam gewährleistet werden.

Die Seminare zur Methodologie und Literaturtheorie werden von den professoralen Mitgliedern der FSGS angeboten und finden in jedem Semester statt. Mindestens ein Seminar aus diesem Angebot müssen Sie belegen. Seminare, die Sie an den Instituten der FUB oder der HUB belegen, können anerkannt werden, ebenso wie Seminare, die Sie während Ihres Auslandsaufenthaltes an einer Gastuniversität besuchen. Entscheidend für die Anerkennung sind die Anzahl der SWS, die regelmäßige Teilnahme und der thematische Fokus (Literaturtheorie und -methodologie). Bitte füllen Sie im Vorfeld das Formular zur Anerkennung aus und lassen Sie sich dieses von der Dozentin / dem Dozenten unterschreiben. Nach Vorlage dieser Formulare nimmt die Geschäftsführung die Anerkennung vor. Dies kann jederzeit geschehen, auch nach der Abgabe der Arbeit.

Im Bereich der Transferable Skills können Sie das Workshopangebot der Dahlem Research School nutzen, ebenso wie das der Humboldt Graduate School. Pro Workshoptag werden 0,5 LP berechnet. Bitte führen Sie zur Sicherheit selber eine Liste mit den belegten Workshops und geben Sie diese im jährlichen Arbeitsbericht korrekt an. Auf den Bereich der Transferable Skills angerechnet wird auch die eigene Lehre (5 LP) oder die Organisation von Veranstaltungen. Für Letzteres vereinbaren Sie bitte einen Termin mit der Geschäftsführung.

Die Colloquien der FSGS sind Pflichtveranstaltungen und können nicht durch andere Veranstaltungen ersetzt werden. Sie werden in den Wintersemestern angeboten und von PI der FSGS geleitet. Die Mitglieder Ihres Betreuungsteams werden von der Geschäftsstelle zu der Sitzung hinzugebeten, in der Sie Ihre Arbeit präsentieren.

Der exemplarische Studienverlaufsplan hilft Ihnen, das Promotionsstudium zu planen, ist aber nicht verbindlich. Gerne beraten wir Sie, damit Sie Ihr Promotionsstudium so durchführen können, dass es eine optimale Unterstützung Ihrer Promotionsarbeit und Karriereplanung bietet.

Hier finden Sie Informationen zum Promotionsstudiengang der FSGS:
Weitere Informationen zu Angeboten im Bereich der Transferable Skills finden Sie hier:
Zur Website Fachbereich Philosophie und Geisteswissenschaften
GeschKultLogo
Dahlem Research School
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft