Research areas

Research areas: methodology and literary theory  

Literature as textual practice

At the center of this fundamental research area lie the comparative analysis and further development of literary theory approaches and interpretive processes, as well as the historical reconstruction and systematic definition of central terms in literary studies. After decades of intensive theory construction and active methodological debates, the current situation of literary studies is shaped by a pragmatic pluralism of methods, allowing for diverse mixed forms. In the seminars, current theories are examined for their consistency, implicit premises, potential, the scope of their interpretations, and their gaps. Some dissertations address this fundamental level directly and examine the interpretive potential or the sustainability of the conceptual features in certain theoretical approaches. Other projects question the exposition processes and philosophical premises of modern literary theories, try to develop alternative concepts, or try out particular theory options on literary case studies.

Intertextuality research, another main focus of this research area – understood as a decidedly antiteleological and nonintentional play of textual reference options – notably manifests the accessibility of literary productions. We examine the use of genre conventions within texts, forms of parody or satire, the reconstruction of discursive patterns, the deconstruction or alienation of models, and the repertory of metatext allowing for ways of literary reflection. Intertextuality research promotes dialogue between national literatures and between cultural and literary studies. It puts the dynamic relationship between texts and other media into focus without disregarding the historical perspective.

Literature as text practice also includes the areas of rhetoric and aesthetics, as their transdisciplinary and comparative orientation has been increasingly researched in recent years.

Literature from a transnational perspective

This area was reoriented in 2012 and expanded institutionally with a new chair in Japanese Studies (Dr. Elena Giannoulis). This complements the previous focus on Postcolonial Studies, represented by the English philology professorship (Dr. Cordula Lemke) with another non-European perspective. It is where comparative work beyond European literature takes place. The main focus is on methods and theories of trans-culturalism, translation, and a ‘global philology,’ whose foundation and challenges are yet to be examined. At present, this area constitutes a theoretical center of the Graduate School, in which the comparative and transnational interests of all members meet.

The Graduate School’s comparative orientation requires the examination of literary texts in their cultural contexts, as well as their respective intercultural and transcultural connections. Literary studies make an important contribution to negotiating cultural ambiguities and the examination of hybrid phenomena, and they reflect the differences in academic traditions within and outside of Europe. This implies a problematization of the hegemonic, Euro-centric Western thinking and a criticism of the process of canonization.

From a literary studies perspective, a central aspect of cultural negotiations is the translation. Translation Studieshave questioned the concept of translation as a way of relaying authentic meaning: translations include rendering cultural contexts, i.e. the translator is the intermediary between cultures and has to consider questions about equivalency, authenticity, and intentionality as well as power imbalances. While there is a presumption of a de-hierarchicalization of literary production, the complex interplay of power balances that negotiate dated attributions and new identities remains a contemporary and controversial topic.

The FSGS’s transnational comparative approach has gained nationwide visibility through the publication series Weltliteraturen / World Literatures. So far, the series published by De Gruyter includes 15 titles. The first volume expands on programmatically possible approaches to the topic of world literatures.

The Graduate School specifically requests pertinent projects and cooperates with research projects in literary studies that boost this research area: the project for the Einstein Visiting Fellowship Transpacifica. Mitteleuropäische Observationen einer Neuen Mitte (1900–1945) analyzes the challenges of an Asian-American modernity that is outgrowing the exotistic and orientalist interpretations as it outgrows the colonization attempts of European powers. The international fellows of the associated project Travelling Traditions: Comparative Perspectives on Near Eastern Literatures are developing transcultural questions from the perspective of the Near East. With North-South Literary and Cultural Interactions, Dr. Cordula Lemke (chair FSGS) has established a trinational doctoral studies program with Kenyatta University (Kenya) and University of Cape Town (South Africa), supported by the DAAD. These projects integrate researchers from Asia, the Near East, and Africa in the Graduate School.

Literature and knowledge

In the tension between reception and production of knowledge, this research area examines epistemological functions of literature. Literature addresses objects of knowledge, records bodies of knowledge, and circulates knowledge. It processes and popularizes academic knowledge, refers to particular systems of knowledge that unfold within it, and which it then takes further. Since literature is not confined to an object of knowledge assigned to it nor limited to a defined field of knowledge, the knowledge of literature is in fact characterized by its linguistic and genre-contingent form. It is not specifically composed. It combines heterogenous and conflicting discourses, and it conceives models of reality in relative autonomy. The Graduate School cooperates closely with the SFB “Episteme in Motion. Transfer of Knowledge from the Ancient World to the Early Modern Period”.

The German philology professorship of FSGS (Dr. Irmela Krüger-Fürhoff) was staffed with an eye toward current literary approaches in the field of literature and knowledge, in which numeous doctoral candidates are working. The doctoral candidates do research in the context of self-differentiating knowledge cultures and with reference to discourses in the natural and human sciences.

Literature, (inter-)mediality and the arts

The continued interest in the mediality of oral or written “literary“ practices as well as their dependence on cultural techniques and technologies is reflected in the dissertations within this research area. The focus is on current or revived practices such as salon culture, poetry slams, graphic novels, blogs, and cross-media forms of art.

Interferences between literary texts and other media or arts constitute a subcategory of this research area. This is where phenomena are addressed that have been examined predominantly in intermediality research in recent years – e.g. the description of a piece of art in another medium (ekphrasis) or the evocation or imitation of another art form or another medium, like cinematic writing or turning fiction into music.

The Graduate School’s third annual conference was about Fiction Compared Across the Arts and Media. The Graduate School’s emphasis on media studies was evident by including the comparative (Dr. Remigius Bunia) and Romance philology (Dr. Irina Rajewsky) professorships as well as in the German philology professorship (Dr. Irmela Krüger-Fürhoff) with researchers on these topics.

Department of Philosophy and Humanities
GeschKultLogoEngl
Dahlem Research School
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

Arbeitsgebiete

Arbeitsgebiete: Methodologie und Literaturtheorie

Literatur als Textpraxis

Im Zentrum dieses grundlegenden Arbeitsgebietes steht die vergleichende Analyse und Weiterentwicklung von literaturtheoretischen Ansätzen und Interpretationsverfahren sowie die historische Rekonstruktion und systematische Bestimmung zentraler Begriffe literaturwissenschaftlicher Arbeit. Nach Jahrzehnten intensiver Theoriebildung und engagierten Methodenstreits ist die aktuelle Situation der Literaturwissenschaften durch einen pragmatischen Methodenpluralismus geprägt, der vielfältige Mischformen zulässt. In den Seminaren werden aktuelle Theorieangebote auf ihre Vereinbarkeit, ihre impliziten Prämissen, ihre Leistungsfähigkeit, die Reichweite ihrer Deutungsangebote und ihre Leerstellen hin geprüft. Einige Dissertationen adressieren diese grundlegende Ebene direkt und prüfen das interpretative Potential oder die Tragfähigkeit der begrifflichen Ausstattung bestimmter theoretischer Ansätze. Andere Projekte befragen die Darstellungsverfahren und philosophischen Prämissen neuerer Literaturtheorien, versuchen, alternative Konzepte zu entwickeln oder erproben an literarischen Fallbeispielen bestimmte Theorieoptionen.

Die Intertextualitätsforschung, ein weiterer Schwerpunkt dieses Arbeitsgebiets – verstanden als dezidiert antiteleologisches und nichtintentionales Spiel textueller Bezugsmöglichkeiten, – lässt die Offenheit literarischer Produktionen in besonderem Maße zu Tage treten. Untersucht werden die Verwendung von Genrekonventionen innerhalb von Texten, Formen der Parodie oder Satire, die Restrukturierung diskursiver Muster, die Dekonstruktion oder Verfremdung von Modellen und das Repertoire des Metatextes, das Formen literarischer Reflexion ermöglicht. Intertextualitätsforschung befördert den Dialog der Nationalliteraturen wie den zwischen Kultur- und Literaturwissenschaften. Sie rückt das dynamische Verhältnis zwischen Texten und anderen Medien in den Fokus, ohne die historische Perspektive außer Acht zu lassen.

Literatur als Textpraxis umfasst auch die Bereiche der Rhetorik und Ästhetik, deren transdisziplinäre und komparatistische Ausrichtung in den letzten Jahren vermehrt erforscht wird.

Literatur in transnationaler Perspektive

Dieses Arbeitsgebiet wurde 2012 neu ausgerichtet und durch eine neue Professur im Bereich der Japanologie (Dr. Elena Giannoulis) institutionell erweitert. Damit wird der bisherige Schwerpunkt in den Postcolonial Studies, vertreten durch die anglistische Professur (Dr. Cordula Lemke), durch eine weitere außereuropäische Perspektive ergänzt. In diesem Arbeitsgebiet findet die über den Bereich der europäischen Literaturen hinausgehende komparatistische Arbeit statt. Fokussiert werden Methoden und Theorien des Transkulturalismus, der Übersetzung und einer ‚Globalphilologie‘, deren Grundlagen und Herausforderungen noch zu erforschen sind. Heute bildet dieser Bereich ein theoretisches Zentrum der Graduiertenschule, in dem sich die komparatistischen und transnationalen Interessen aller Mitglieder begegnen.

Die komparatistische Ausrichtung der Graduiertenschule erfordert die Untersuchung literarischer Texte in ihren kulturellen Kontexten wie auch ihrer jeweiligen inter- und transkulturellen Verbindungen. Die Literaturwissenschaft leistet einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Verhandlung kultureller Ambivalenzen sowie zur Untersuchung hybrider Phänomene und reflektiert Unterschiede der Wissenschaftstraditionen inner- wie außerhalb Europas. Damit geht eine Problematisierung des hegemonialen, eurozentrischen westlichen Denkens einher sowie eine Kritik von Kanonisierungsprozessen.

Ein aus literaturwissenschaftlicher Perspektive zentraler Aspekt kultureller Verhandlungen ist die Übersetzung. Die Translation Studies haben das Konzept von Übersetzung als Vermittlung authentischer Bedeutung in Frage gestellt: Translationen beinhalten Übertragungen von kulturellen Kontexten, der Übersetzer ist Vermittler zwischen den Kulturen und muss Fragen nach Äquivalenz, Authentizität und Intentionalität ebenso bedenken wie Machtungleichgewichte. Zwar geht man heute von einer Enthierarchisierung der literarischen Produktion aus, doch das komplexe Zusammenspiel von Machtverhältnissen, die alte Zuschreibungen und neue Identitäten verhandeln, bleibt ein aktuelles und brisantes Thema.

Überregionale Sichtbarkeit gewinnt der transnationale komparatistische Ansatz der FSGS durch die Schriftenreihe Weltliteraturen / World Literatures. Bislang sind in der bei De Gruyter veröffentlichten Reihe 15 Titel erschienen. Der erste Band entfaltet programmatisch mögliche Zugänge zum Thema Weltliteraturen.

Die Graduiertenschule beantragt gezielt einschlägige Projekte und kooperiert mit literaturwissenschaftlichen Forschungsvorhaben, die dieses Arbeitsgebiet stärken: Das Projekt zum Einstein Visiting Fellowship Transpacifica. Mitteleuropäische Observationen einer Neuen Mitte (1900–1945) analysiert die Herausforderungen einer asiatisch-amerikanischen Moderne, die den exotistischen und orientalistischen Deutungen ebenso entwächst wie den Kolonisierungsversuchen europäischer Mächte. Die internationalen Fellows des assoziierten Projekts Travelling Traditions: Comparative Perspectives on Near Eastern Literatures entwickeln transkulturelle Fragestellungen aus der Perspektive des Nahen Ostens. Dr. Cordula Lemke (Professur FSGS) hat mit North-South Literary and Cultural Interactions einen vom DAAD geförderten trinationalen Promotionsstudiengang mit der Kenyatta University (Kenia) und der University of Cape Town (Südafrika) aufgebaut. Diese Projekte integrieren Forschende aus Asien, dem Nahen Osten und Afrika in die Graduiertenschule.

Literatur und Wissen

In der Spannung zwischen Rezeption und Produktion von Wissen untersucht dieses Forschungsfeld epistemologische Funktionen der Literatur. Literatur thematisiert Gegenstände des Wissens, speichert Wissensbestände und lässt Wissen zirkulieren, sie verarbeitet und popularisiert wissenschaftliches Wissen, bezieht sich auf besondere Ordnungen des Wissens, die sich in ihr entfalten und die sie weiterführt. Da sich Literatur nicht auf einen ihr zugeordneten Wissensgegenstand oder ein definiertes Wissensgebiet beschränkt, ist das Wissen der Literatur vielmehr durch die sprachliche und gattungsbedingte Form charakterisiert: Es ist weniger ausdrücklich verfasst, es kombiniert heterogene und widersprüchliche Diskurse, es entwirft Wirklichkeitsmodelle in relativer Eigenständigkeit. Die Graduiertenschule kooperiert eng mit dem SFB Episteme in Bewegung. Wissenstransfer von der Alten Welt bis in die Frühe Neuzeit.

Die germanistische Professur der FSGS (Dr. Irmela Krüger-Fürhoff) wurde mit Blick auf aktuelle literaturwissenschaftliche Zugänge zu dem von vielen DoktorandInnen bearbeiteten Feld Literatur und Wissen besetzt. Die Promovierenden forschen sowohl zu Literatur im Kontext sich ausdifferenzierender Wissenskulturen als auch zu natur- und humanwissenschaftlichen Diskursen.

Literatur, (Inter-)Medialität und die Künste

Das anhaltende Interesse an der Medialität von oralen und geschriebenen „literarischen“ Praktiken sowie an deren Abhängigkeit von Kulturtechniken und Technologien spiegelt sich in den Promotionen zu diesem Arbeitsgebiet. Im Fokus stehen aktuelle oder wiederauflebende Praktiken wie die Salonkultur, Poetry Slams, Graphic Novel, Blogs und medienübergreifende Kunstformen.

Interferenzen zwischen literarischen Texten und anderen Medien oder Künsten stellen eine Subkategorie dieses Gebietes dar: Hier werden Phänomene adressiert, die in den letzten Jahren vornehmlich in der Intermedialitätsforschung untersucht wurden, etwa die Beschreibung eines Kunstwerkes in einem anderen Medium (Ekphrasis), die Heraufbeschwörung oder Imitation einer anderen Kunstform oder eines anderen Mediums etwa beim filmischen Schreiben oder in der Musikalisierung der Fiktion.

Die dritte Jahrestagung der Graduiertenschule galt dem Thema Fiktion im Vergleich der Künste und Medien. Ausdruck des medienwissenschaftlichen Schwerpunktes der Graduiertenschule waren die Besetzungen der komparatistischen (Dr. Remigius Bunia) und der romanistischen (Dr. Irina Rajewsky) Professuren sowie der germanistischen Professur (Dr. Irmela Krüger-Fürhoff) mit zu diesen Themen Forschenden.

Zur Website Fachbereich Philosophie und Geisteswissenschaften
GeschKultLogo
Dahlem Research School
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft