Information for future doctoral candidates at FSGS

Festakt-2017
Image Credit: Lorenz Becker
Projektstipendiatin 2017
Image Credit: Lorenz Becker

General information

Welcome to Friedrich Schlegel Graduate School of Literary Studies (FSGS) at Freie Universität Berlin. This page contains essential information about our doctoral program. 

Selection of courses, lectures and seminars / Integration into the Graduate School

Members of FSGS have access to excellent infrastructure. They are part of an international and interdisciplinary network of teaching and research, and can choose from our offers to create a tailormade program in support of their project. The interdisciplinary research colloquia during the winter semesters are mandatory, where all projects are presented and progress discussions take place.

Our overview of the structure of our doctoral program shows you how many credits in the various areas (writing the dissertation, seminars, workshops for transferable skills, colloquia) you need to achieve. A transfer of credits from one area to another is not possible.

Besides our curricular offers, you may participate in all workshops and conferences, and you are welcome to help organize or contribute your own presentation. The FSGS members’ joint reading group offers an informal opportunity to take part in our professional discourse. On Tuesdays at noon, the Schlegels meet for the lunch forum: they eat together, get to know each other, and listen to a short lecture. The current schedule can be found on this website.

Additionally, you may participate in workshops at Dahlem Research School (DRS) at the Graduate School’s expense. Here, you will find high-quality offers in the field of transferable skills.

At your request, the Graduate School might assign you a work space in one of the Ph.D. student rooms. The more time you spend working at the school, the more you will be able to engage in conversations with others. We do not supply computers, but you may use a BookEye scanner in the philological library at no cost, and a central printer and copier at the FSGS.

Have any further questions? Send us an email or stop by (JK 33/110).

Secondary or multiple employment

How much you may earn on top of your scholarship is regulated through the DFG guidelines for Graduate Schools: all non-academic activities are counted towards the scholarship, which means that the scholarship is decreased by the amount of these additional earnings (including the gross tax portion where appropriate). Earnings from academic activities are exempt from deductions, but they may not exceed the limit of 6000 Euro per year. Additional earnings are to be reported to our office. Please fill out the declaration of secondary or multiple employment .

Doctoral studies at FSGS

  • Before enrollment
  • Doctoral studies offices

Points of contact at Freie Universität Berlin

We’ve put together a few helpful links for you. If you are a visiting Ph.D. student or future member of Friedrich Schlegel Graduate School, you may contact our office team at any point and make a consultation appointment.

  • FUBright for international doctoral candidates
  • Day care center at the FU Berlin
Department of Philosophy and Humanities
GeschKultLogoEngl
Dahlem Research School
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
logo einstein grau

Informationen für zukünftige Promovierende an der FSGS

Festakt-2017
Bildquelle: Lorenz Becker
Projektstipendiatin 2017
Bildquelle: Lorenz Becker

Allgemeine Hinweise

Herzlich willkommen an der Friedrich Schlegel Graduiertenschule für literaturwissenschaftliche Studien (FSGS) der Freien Universität Berlin. Auf dieser Seite finden Sie einige grundlegende Informationen zum Promotionsstudium. 

Auswahl von Lehrveranstaltungen / Integration in die Graduiertenschule

Den Mitgliedern der FSGS steht eine exzellente Infrastruktur zur Verfügung. Sie sind eingebunden in ein internationales und interdisziplinäres Netzwerk von Forschung und Lehre und können sich aus einem strukturierten Angebot ein maßgeschneidertes Programm zur Förderung ihres Projektes zusammenstellen. Verpflichtend sind die interdisziplinären Jahrgangscolloquien in den Wintersemestern, in denen die Projekte vorgestellt und Arbeitsfortschritte diskutiert werden.

Der Überblick über die Struktur unseres Promotionsstudienganges zeigt Ihnen, wie viele Leistungspunkte Sie in den einzelnen Bereichen (Schreiben der Promotion, Seminare, Workshops zu Transferable Skills, Colloquien) erwerben müssen. Eine Übertragung von LP von einem Bereich auf den anderen ist nicht möglich.

Neben den curricularen Angeboten können Sie an allen Workshops und Tagungen teilnehmen und sich auch organisatorisch oder mit einem eigenen Vortrag einbringen. Gemeinsame Lesekreise der FSGS-Mitglieder bieten Ihnen zwanglose Anknüpfungsmöglichkeiten an die internen Fachdiskussionen. Dienstags um 12.00 Uhr treffen sich die Schlegelianer zum Mittagsforum: gemeinsam essen, sich kennenlernen und einen Kurzvortrag hören. Das aktuelle Programm finden Sie auf dieser Webseite.

Zudem dürfen Sie auf Kosten der Graduiertenschule an Workshops der Dahlem Research School (DRS) teilnehmen. Hier finden Sie hochwertige Angebote aus dem Bereich Transferable Skills.

Die Graduiertenschule teilt Ihnen auf Wunsch einen Arbeitsplatz in einem der DoktorandInnen-Räume zu. Je öfter Sie in der Schule arbeiten, desto leichter werden Sie mit anderen ins Gespräch kommen. Computer stellen wir nicht zur Verfügung, aber einen kostenfreien BookEye-Scanner in der Philologischen Bibliothek und einen zentralen Drucker sowie einen Kopierer in der FSGS.

Haben Sie noch weitere Fragen? Schreiben Sie uns eine E-Mail oder kommen Sie bei uns vorbei (JK 33/110).

Nebentätigkeiten

Wieviel Sie zu einem Stipendium dazuverdienen können, regeln die DFG-Richtlinien für Graduiertenschulen: Alle nichtwissenschaftlichen Tätigkeiten werden auf das Stipendium angerechnet, d. h. das Stipendium verringert sich um den Betrag der Zusatzeinnahmen (ggf. einschließlich des Brutto-Steueranteils). Verdienste durch wissenschaftliche Tätigkeiten sind hingegen abzugsfrei möglich, dürfen jedoch die Zuverdienstgrenze von 6000 Euro pro Jahr nicht überschreiten. Nebenverdienste müssen der Geschäftsstelle mitgeteilt werden. Bitte füllen Sie hierzu diese Erklärung zu Nebentätigkeiten aus.

Promotion an der FSGS

Anlaufstellen an der Freien Universität

Wir haben für Sie im Folgenden ein paar informative Links zusammengestellt. Sind Sie GastdoktorandIn oder zukünftiges Mitglied der Friedrich Schlegel Graduiertenschule, können Sie sich jederzeit an das Geschäftsstellenteam wenden und einen Beratungstermin vereinbaren.

  • FUBright für Internationale Promovierende
Zur Website Fachbereich Philosophie und Geisteswissenschaften
GeschKultLogo
Dahlem Research School
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
logo einstein grau