Information for visiting doctoral candidates

Gastdiktorand/innen 2015
Visiting doctoral candidates 2015
Image Credit: Marcus Reichmann
Gastdoktorand/innen 2015
Visiting doctoral candidates 2015
Gastwissenschaftler/innen 2014
Visiting researchers 2014
Internationaler Beirat
International Advisory Board 2015

Welcome to Friedrich Schlegel Graduate School of Literary Studies at Freie Universität Berlin. On this page you’ll find some essential information about doctoral studies at FSGS. Please send us an email as soon as you know when you will arrive in Berlin. We will then make an appointment to show you the school and help you fill out the forms to get access to WIFI, the cafeteria, the libraries, etc..

We would also be happy to support you in your temporary enrollment in our study program “Literary Studies.“ You can find information regarding enrollment at Gateway for Doctoral Candidates. General information to organize your stay in Berlin can be found on the FUBright website.

Selection of classes / Integration in the Graduate School

FSGS offers you the opportunity to participate in colloquia, and to present and discuss your research project. We also offer seminars you can take. The majority of classes are in German.

Besides all curricular offers, you can participate in all workshops and conferences, as well as help organize or give a lecture yourself. The FSGS members’ joint reading circle offers you informal points of contact to internal professional discourse. On Tuesdays at noon, the Schlegels meet for lunch forum: they eat together, get to know each other, and listen to a short lecture. You can find the current schedule on this website.

Additionally, you may participate in a workshop at Dahlem Research School (DRS) at the Graduate School’s expense. Here, you will find high-quality offers in the field of transferable skills.

At your request, the Graduate School might assign you a work space in one of the Ph.D. student rooms. The more time you spend working at the school, the more you will be able to engage in conversations with others. We do not supply computers, but you may use a BookEye scanner in the philological library at no cost, and a central printer and copier at FSGS.

If you are attending a doctoral studies program at one of our partner universities and are visiting through the partnership agreement we will reimburse your enrollment fees and semester fees. Please hand in the receipt at our office.

Have any further questions? Send us an email or stop by (JK 33/110).

ECTS credits

If you participate in any FSGS classes (colloquia, seminars) for a total of 2 SWS = two hours/week during the semester, you can earn 2 ECTS.

Transcript of records

At your request we can issue a transcript of records at the end of your stay for your home university. Please visit our office with all necessary documents (JK 33/111).

You will need the following documents for us to issue your transcript of records:

  • please download the transcript of records here in German or English and fill it out. Take the printout to us or send it to us via email.
  • Bring or send us any attendance certificates for all the classes you’ve taken. Please download the attendance certificates, print and fill them out, and have your course instructor sign them.

Information for visiting ERASMUS doctoral candidates

Please contact the general Erasmus office at FU Berlin for all administrative questions that don’t specifically pertain to FSGS. You can also find a lot of useful information to organize your stay in Berlin on the Erasmus office’s website.

 

 

Department of Philosophy and Humanities
GeschKultLogoEngl
Dahlem Research School
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
logo einstein grau

Informationen für Gastdoktorand/innen

Gastdiktorand/innen 2015
Gastdoktorand/innen 2015 Bildquelle: Marcus Reichmann
Gastdoktorandin
Gastdoktorandin 2015 Bildquelle: Marcus Reichmann
Gastdoktorand/innen 2015
Gastdoktorand/innen 2015
Gastdoktorand/innen 2013
Gastdoktorand/innen 2013
Gastwissenschaftler/innen 2014
Gastwissenschaftler/innen 2014
Internationaler Beirat
Internationaler Beirat 2015

Allgemeine Hinweise

Herzlich willkommen an der Friedrich-Schlegel-Graduiertenschule der FU Berlin. Auf dieser Seite finden Sie einige grundlegende Informationen zum Promotionsstudium an der FSGS. Bitte schreiben Sie uns eine Email, sobald Sie wissen, wann Sie in Berlin ankommen werden. Wir machen dann einen Termin, zeigen Ihnen die Schule und helfen Ihnen, die Anträge für den Zugang zum WLAN, zur Mensa, zu den Bibliotheken etc. auszufüllen.

Auch bei der befristeten Immatrikulation auf unseren Studiengang 'Literary Studies' unterstützen wir Sie gerne. Infromationen zur Einschreibung finden Sie im Gateway for Doctoral Candidates.

Allgemeine Informationen zur Organisation Ihres Aufenthaltes in Berlin finden Sie auf der zentralen Webseite der FU Berlin oder auf der Seite des DRS Welcome Service. Der DRS Welcome Service berät Sie auch bei VISA- und aufenthaltsrechtlichen Fragen.

Auswahl von Lehrveranstaltungen / Integration in die Graduiertenschule

Die FSGS bietet Ihnen die Möglichkeit, an Colloquien teilzunehmen und dort Ihre Arbeitsvorhaben zu präsentieren und zu diskutieren. Zudem werden Seminare angeboten, die Sie belegen können. Ein Großteil der Lehrveranstaltungen findet in deutscher Sprache statt.

Neben den curricularen Angeboten, können Sie an allen Workshops und Tagungen teilnehmen und sich auch organisatorisch oder mit einem eigenen Vortrag einbringen. Der gemeinsame Lesekreis der FSGS-Mitglieder bietet Ihnen zwanglose Anknüpfungsmöglichkeiten an die internen Fachdiskussionen. Dienstags um 12.00 Uhr treffen sich die Schlegelianer zum Mittagsforum: gemeinsam Essen, sich kennen lernen und einen Kurzvortrag hören. Das aktuelle Programm finden Sie auf dieser Webseite.

Zudem dürfen Sie auf Kosten der Graduiertenschule an zwei Workshops pro Semester der Dahlem Research School (DRS) teilnehmen. Hier finden Sie hochwertige Angebote aus dem Bereich Transferable Skills.

Die Graduiertenschule teilt Ihnen auf Wunsch einen Arbeitsplatz in einem der Doktroand/innen-Räume zu. Je öfter Sie in der Schule arbeiten, desto leichter werden Sie mit anderen ins Gespräch kommen. Computer stellen wir nicht zur Verfügung, aber einen kostenfreien BookEye-Scanner in der Philologischen Bibliothek und einen zentralen Drucker sowie einen Kopierer in der FSGS.

Wenn Sie an einer unserer Partnerhochschulen promovieren und über den Partnerschaftsvertrag zu uns kommen, erstatten wir Ihnen die Immatrikulationsgebühren und Semesterbeiträge. Bitte reichen Sie die Belege im Sekretariat der Schule ein.

Haben Sie noch weitere Fragen? Schreiben Sie uns eine Email oder kommen Sie bei uns vorbei (JK 33/110).

ECTS-Punkte

Bei der Belegung von FSGS-Lehrveranstaltungen (Colloquien, Seminare) im Umfang von 2 SWS = zwei Semesterwochenstunden können Sie 2 ECTS erwerben.

Transcript of Records (ToR)

Am Ende Ihres Aufenthaltes stellen wir Ihnen auf Wunsch ein Transcript of Records für Ihre Heimatuniversität aus. Kommen Sie dafür mit allen Unterlagen in die Geschäftsstelle (JK 33/111).

Folgende Unterlagen werden benötigt, damit wir Ihnen das ToR ausstellen können:

  • Bitte laden Sie sich das Transkript of Records hier auf deutsch oder englisch herunter und füllen Sie es aus. Bringen Sie es ausgedruckt zu uns oder schicken Sie es uns per Email.
  • Bringen oder schicken Sie uns bitte Teilnahmescheine für die Kurse, die Sie besucht haben. Die Teilnahmescheine laden Sie bitte herunter, drucken und füllen sie aus und legen sie der Kursleiterin / dem Kursleiter zur Unterschrift vor.

Hinweise für ERASMUS-Gastdoktorand/innen

Bei allen administrativen Fragen zu Erasmus, die nicht speziell die FSGS betreffen, wenden Sie sich bitte an das allgemeine Erasmus-Büro der FU Berlin. Auf der Website des Erasmus-Büros finden Sie auch viele nützliche Informationen zur Organisation Ihres Aufenthaltes in Berlin.

Zur Website Fachbereich Philosophie und Geisteswissenschaften
GeschKultLogo
Dahlem Research School
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
logo einstein grau