World Literatures
Image Credit: Marcus Reichmann
Philologische Bibliothek
Philological Library
Schlegel Transnational
Schlegel transnational
Image Credit: ICI Berlin
Media change

Friedrich Schlegel Graduate School of Literary Studies promotes and supervises theoretically and conceptually outstanding PhD projects in the field of Literary Studies analyzing texts of European and Non-European origin. The Graduate School strives for the advancement of genuine research perspectives of Literary Studies which cross single-language borders and challenge the technologies of globalization, last but not least by locating past and present phenomena of cultural practice within a broad historic horizon.

Research areas include the relationship between literary texts, the links between literary texts and processes of linguistic reflection, rhetoric and poetics, the correlations between literature and other aesthetic media and the interdependency between literature and discourses of knowledge. The literary objects of research are neither restricted by the period of time (from ancient to the present world) nor by language (World Literatures).

FSGS promotes research in the field of Literary Studies which is methodologically innovative and sets international benchmarks through its comparative method applied to text, media and culture. Focal points are the philological focus on textual and linguistic phenomena, the method of diachronic and synchronic comparison of languages, literatures, cultures and media, an awareness of the historicity of texts that provides insights into the interrelations between literature and such cultural processes as the generation of meaning, the formation of societies and the constitution of knowledge as well as a theoretical orientation in terms of a critical examination of the practice of Literary Studies and its central terms respective framework.

The choice of Friedrich Schlegel as patron of the Graduate School derives from the awareness that Friedrich Schlegel's work established important requirements of theoretically challenging, methodically innovative Literary Studies as it has been being represented successfully at Freie Universität Berlin for many years now.

Read more about the research areas of FSGS in the section Curriculum.

Forschung

Weltliteraturen
Weltliteraturen
Notizen
Notizen Bildquelle: Marcus Reichmann
Philologische Bibliothek
Philologische Bibliothek
Schlegel Transnational
Schlegel Transnational
Podiumsdiskussion
Diskussion Bildquelle: ICI Berlin
Schreibmaschine
Medienwechsel

Die Friedrich Schlegel Graduiertenschule für literatur- wissenschaftliche Studien betreut theoretisch und konzeptionell herausragende Dissertationsprojekte auf dem Gebiet der Literaturwissenschaften, die Texte europäischen und nicht europäischen Ursprungs untersuchen. Sie strebt nach der Weiterentwicklung genuin literaturwissenschaft- licher Forschungsperspektiven, die nationale oder einzelsprachliche Grenzen überschreiten und die Technologien der Globalisierung kritisch hinterfragt, nicht zuletzt indem sie alle – auch die gegenwärtigen – Phänomene der kulturellen Praxis in einem weiten historischen Horizont situiert.

Forschungsfelder sind die Beziehungen zwischen literarischen Texten, die Zusammenhänge zwischen literarischen Texten und Prozessen der Sprachreflexion, die Rhetorik und Poetik, die Korrelation zwischen Literatur und anderen ästhetischen Medien sowie die Interdependenz von Literatur und Wissensdiskursen. Einschränkungen hinsichtlich der zu erforschenden literarischen Gegenstände gibt es weder in Bezug auf den Zeitraum (Antike bis Gegenwart) noch auf die Sprache (Literaturen der Welt).

Die FSGS fördert literaturwissenschaftliche Forschung, die durch die Reflexion ihrer text-, medien- und kulturver- gleichenden Verfahrensweisen methodisch innovativ und international maßstabsetzend ist. Leitend sind die philologische Konzentration auf Phänomene der Textualität bzw. Sprachlichkeit, das Verfahren des diachronen und synchronen Sprach-, Literatur-, Kultur- und Medienvergleichs, ein historisches Bewusstsein, das Zusammenhänge zwischen literarischen Texten und kulturellen Prozessen der Bedeutungsstiftung, Gesellschaftsbildung und Wissens- konstitution erschließt, sowie eine theoretische Orientierung im Sinne der kritischen Überprüfung literaturwissenschaft- licher Praxis und ihrer zentralen Begriffe bzw. Bezugs- systeme.

Die Wahl des Namenspatrons leitet sich aus der Erkenntnis ab, dass Friedrich Schlegels Arbeit wichtige Voraus- setzungen für eine theoretisch anspruchsvolle, methodisch innovative Literaturwissenschaft geschaffen hat, wie sie an der Freien Universität Berlin seit vielen Jahren erfolgreich vertreten wird.

Lesen Sie mehr zu den Arbeitsgebieten der FSGS im Bereich Curriculum.

Zur Website Fachbereich Philosophie und Geisteswissenschaften
GeschKultLogo
Dahlem Research School
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
logo einstein grau