FSGS Funding Opportunities

ProjektstipendiatInnen 2017
ProjektstipendiatInnen 2017
Image Credit: FSGS

The Friedrich Schlegel Graduate School of Literary Studies (FSGS) offers different forms of funding and support for the fall of 2019: project schoralships, Ph.D. positions and DAAD grants for international students of German literature and culture.

1. Project grants at the Friedrich Schlegel Graduate School

The Einstein Foundation’s Award for Doctoral Programmes allows the FSGS to offer project scholarships supporting junior researchers in developing their dissertation project and applying for external dissertation funding.

Project scholars receive a 9-month scholarship of EUR 1103 per month. Aside from the financial support that allows for residence in Berlin and focusing on the project development, the grantees are mentored by a team of supervisors. Our workshop series designed specifically for grantees of the project scholarship offers precise information on funding opportunities in Germany, coaching and presentation training as well as forums to critically discuss exposés in the various stages of their development.

Who may apply: junior researchers who have completed a master’s degree by the beginning of the scholarship in June of 2019, and who plan a comparative dissertation in literary studies. Please note that the requirements to apply are the same as for our doctoral positions: knowledge of German and English level C1/B2.

Project scholars who can successfully secure external dissertation funding receive a Ph.D. position at the Graduate School. This allows the scholars to take part in the doctoral studies’ structured curriculum, includes a travel budget, and facilitates financing requests of FSGS funds for events.


International students are specifically encouraged to apply.

2. Ph.D. positions at the Friedrich Schlegel Graduate School

Ph.D. students with their own funding (scholarship from foundations or a position as a research assistant) can apply for positions at the Graduate School. The positions are for the duration of three to four years, include a travel budget of EUR 3000, and facilitate financing requests to the board to fund own events. Further, our scholars are members of our Graduate School’s extraordinary network, take part in our colloquia and events, and keep regular contact with their advisors who are all part of the circle of Principal Investigators (PIs) at the FSGS.

3. DAAD grants for international Germanists

The DAAD grants we offer are part of the DAAD’s Graduate School Scholarship Program (GSSP). They are directed at international students of German literature and culture ("Germanisten/Germanistinnen"), who plan on a dissertation in literary studies, do not have a German passport and either currently live outside of Germany, or arrived in Germany no earlier than 2018. 

After having undergone the selection process, candidates will also have to sub-mit their applications through the DAAD portal; the final decision lies with the funding agency.

Call for proposalsapplication procedure and application documents

Our call for proposals is posted once a year on our website, in DIE ZEIT, at academics.com and by the DAAD. The call for proposals is published in October 2018.

Application deadline is December 16 2018 at 08:00 PM CET. Please note that we can only accept applications submitted online. The platform will be enabled on November 05, 2018.

After reviewing the applications received in January 2019 you will receive a response in case your application cannot be considered on formal grounds. All formally admitted applications will go through an internal review process in January. In March 2019 the selection committee meets and selects ca. 30 applicants, who will be invited to selection interviews in April 2019. If you were not selected for an interview, you will receive a rejection letter in March 2019.

The selection interviews take place in April 2019. Applicants have 5-10 minutes to give a verbal presentation of their project, followed by a 10-15-minute discussion. The prospective supervisors selected in the application are invited to this interview. You do not have to bring application documents. Shortly after the selection interviews you will receive a confirmation or rejection.

The project scholarships begin in June 2019.
The doctoral studies for those who have received a position start on October 01, 2019.
The DAAD grants begin October 01, 2019.


Further information:

Department of Philosophy and Humanities
GeschKultLogoEngl
Dahlem Research School
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
logo einstein grau

FSGS Förderformate

ProjektstipendiatInnen 2017
ProjektstipendiatInnen 2017
Bildquelle: FSGS

Die Friedrich Schlegel Graduiertenschule für literaturwissenschaftliche Studien (FSGS) schreibt im Herbst 2018 unterschiedliche Förderformate aus: Projektstipendien, Promotionsplätze und DAAD-Stipendien für internationale GermanistInnen.

1. Projektstipendien an der Friedrich Schlegel Graduiertenschule

Der Doktorandenprogrammpreis der Einstein Stiftung ermöglicht der FSGS, ein Stipendienformat aufzulegen, das NachwuchswissenschaftlerInnen darin unterstützt, ihr Promotionsprojekt zu entwickeln und einen Antrag zur Einwerbung eines externen Promotionsstipendiums zu schreiben.

Die ProjektstipendiatInnen erhalten ein 9-monatiges Stipendium im Umfang von EUR 1103 pro Monat. Neben der finanziellen Unterstützung, die den Aufenthalt in Berlin und die Konzentration auf die Projektentwicklung ermöglicht, werden die ProjektstipendiantInnen von einem Betreuungsteam der FSGS fachlich begleitet. Die eigens für das Förderformat Projektstipendien konzipierte Workshopreihe bietet zudem gezielte Informationen zu Fördermöglichkeiten in Deutschland, Coachings, Präsentationstrainings sowie Foren zur kritischen Diskussion des eigenen Exposés in den verschiedenen Stadien seiner Entstehung.

Bewerben können sich NachwuchswissenschaftlerInnen, die ihren Master bis zum Beginn der Förderung im Juni 2019 abgeschlossen haben und eine komparatistisch-literaturwissenschaftliche Promotion planen. Zudem gelten dieselben Zugangsvoraussetzungen wie für unsere Promotionsstipendien: Deutsch- und Englischkenntnisse auf dem Niveau C1/B2.

Die ProjektstipendiatInnen, die erfolgreich eine externe Promotionsfinanzierung einwerben, erhalten einen Promotionsplatz an der Graduiertenschule. Dieser verpflichtet zur Teilnahme am Curriculum des strukturierten Promotionsstudienganges, beinhaltet ein Reisekostenbudget (abgestimmt auf die Regularien des Stipendiengebers) und berechtigt zur Beantragung von FSGS-Mitteln zur Veranstaltungsorganisation.

Internationale Studierende werden nachdrücklich aufgefordert, sich zu bewerben.

2. Promotionsplätze an der Friedrich Schlegel Graduiertenschule

Promovierende mit einer eigenen Finanzierung (Stipendium oder Stelle als Wissenschaftliche/r Mitarbeiter/in) können sich auf Promotionsplätze an der Graduiertenschule bewerben. Die Promotionsplätze mit einer Laufzeit von drei bis vier Jahren sind mit einem Reisekostenbudget von EUR 3000 ausgestattet und ermöglichen Anträge an den Vorstand zur Finanzierung eigener Veranstaltungen. Darüber hinaus sind sie Mitglied des herausragenden Netzwerkes der Graduiertenschule, nehmen an Colloquien und Veranstaltungen der Schule teil und stehen in regelmäßigem Kontakt mit ihren BetreuerInnen, die aus dem Kreis der PI der FSGS kommen.

3. DAAD-Stipendien für internationale GermanistInnen

Die DAAD-Stipendien sind Teil des Graduate School Scholarship Programme (GSSP) des DAAD. Gefördert werden können internationale BewerberInnen, die eine literaturwissenschaftliche Promotion im Fach Germanistik anstreben, keinen deutschen Pass besitzen und entweder außerhalb Deutschlands leben oder erst im Jahr 2018 nach Deutschland gekommen sind. 

Die nominierten KandidatInnen müssen ihre Bewerbung im Anschluss an den FSGS-Auswahlprozess im April 2019 auch über das DAAD-Portal einreichen.

Ausschreibung und Verfahren

Ausgeschrieben wird einmal im Jahr auf unserer Webseite, über einschlägigen Mailinglisten, in DIE ZEIT, auf academics.com sowie über den DAAD. Die Ausschreibung erscheint im Oktober 2018.

Bewerbungsschluss ist der 16. Dezember 2018 um 20:00 MEZ. Bitte haben Sie Verständnis, dass wir nur Bewerbungen berücksichtigen können, die über die Online-Bewerbungsplattform eingereicht werden. Die Plattform wird am 05. November 2018 freigeschaltet.

Nach Sichtung der eingegangenen Bewerbungen im Januar 2019 erhalten Sie eine Rückmeldung, falls Ihre Bewerbung aus formalen Gründen nicht berücksichtigt werden kann. Alle formal zugelassenen Bewerbungen gehen im Januar in ein internes Begutachtungsverfahren. Im März 2019 tagt die Auswahlkommission und wählt mithilfe der internen Voten ca. 30 BewerberInnen aus, die zu den Auswahlgesprächen im April 2019 eingeladen werden. Sollten Sie nicht für die Gespräche ausgewählt worden sein, erhalten Sie im März 2019 eine Absage.

Im April 2019 finden die Auswahlgespräche statt. Jede Bewerberin/jeder Bewerber hat 5-10 Minuten Zeit, das eigene Projekt mündlich darzulegen. Anschließend folgt eine Diskussion von 10-15 Minuten. Die in der Bewerbung ausgewählten BetreuerInnen werden zu diesem Gespräch eingeladen. Bewerbungsunterlagen müssen Sie nicht mitbringen. Nach den Auswahlgesprächen erhalten Sie zeitnah eine Zu- oder Absage.

Die Projektstipendien beginnen im Juni 2019.
Der Promotionsstudiengang für Personen, die einen Promotionsplatz bekommen haben, fängt am 01. Oktober 2019 an.
Die DAAD-Stipendien beginnen am 01. Oktober 2019.


Zur Website Fachbereich Philosophie und Geisteswissenschaften
GeschKultLogo
Dahlem Research School
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
logo einstein grau